Author Topic: -Latest Version Roadmap?  (Read 8677 times)

Offline tgucm

• Multiple posting newcomer
  • JSC++
-Latest Version Roadmap?
« on: December 20, 2011, 03:25:38 am »
( sorry in advance if you feel i've posted this in the wrong forum, please move this topic if you feel it best )

Hi,

I'm new to C++ ( currently studying, started this past week ) and i've been looking for various cross-plstform C++ IDE's

I have msvc2010 express but not very satisfied with it, at the moment.  I have been heavily considering building a Linux box and using GCC but then I found CodeBlocks!  From reading over it; CodeBlocks looks and seems like just the right thing for me  :)

I just had a couple questions if I could:

1:  Version 10.05; is there a new version planned for 2012 by chance? ( this is why i posted in this forum )

2:  Would someone please explain to me what the two versions mean?
     [ codeblocks-10.05-setup.exe vs codeblocks-10.05mingw-setup.exe ]
     I tried looking up minGW but as i'm completely new to this I just don't seem to understand O:-)

3:  Is it true that I could write my C++ programs once and then compile/link to Windows/Mac/Linux? ( how to do this? )

3b:  Could I use CodeBlocks to compile/link to android/kindle/ios?

Many thanks in advance!
-ucm

Win7-64bit
8gb ddr3
ATI 5770HD
« Last Edit: December 20, 2011, 03:59:26 am by tgucm »
--
C++ novice as of 2011... C++ 'intermediate' as of 2012... please be kind O:-)

Offline MortenMacFly

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: -Latest Version Roadmap?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2011, 06:35:38 am »
1:  Version 10.05; is there a new version planned for 2012 by chance? ( this is why i posted in this forum )
Yes, in the meantime feel free to use nightly builds - they cover all the improvements made in the meantime.

2:  Would someone please explain to me what the two versions mean?
     [ codeblocks-10.05-setup.exe vs codeblocks-10.05mingw-setup.exe ]