Author Topic: Err... Help please?....  (Read 4962 times)

Offline Code::Basher

• Single posting newcomer
Err... Help please?....
« on: April 22, 2008, 07:02:06 pm »
Hi...

Well, here we are...   Please bear with me, this is the ramblings of the megga confused and befuddled.... :?

I'm an experienced programmer, having used such things as various dialects of basic, pascal(Delphi) assembler and some C (The only formal training I ever had in the art, was C based, but.......)

As part of my justification for holding down the chair to the floor, I have to support some software products, one of which, the part I'm involved with is created and maintained with C, and C::B now (was Borland CPP)

As I'm also "coming back to C" after a  l o n g  period away in Delphi land, and having been sent C::B to install and use (instalation went "OK" by the way, at least AFIK)  And the sources from our benefactors compile OK, if somewhat slowly..

OK...

Working my way back into all this, I went and found my K&R book, and started working through the various parts..  As they say, it's all coming back now.

But..  Try as I might, I cant seem to get the debugger to, well, debug anything.   I can set a breakpoint (I think) at least I get a red spot OK, but build/run, it just run's with no break.   This being simple stand alone console app's for the moment.

At one point, I ended up with a message on shutting down C::B, that an active debug session will be closed.  Hmmm...  What active debug session?   I couldnt get anything debug wise to be active.

As I also have an interest in using single chip devices, (Pic's & AVR's etc) I also found that C::B had "detected" SDCC on here too, but it insists on using whateve else it has for AVR's, that for whatever reason don't seem to support just about any of the popular current bacth of AVR chips.  Well, it spits fethers at them shall we say...