Author Topic: Strange cursor and window locked up  (Read 4046 times)

tgsauder

Strange cursor and window locked up
« on: October 26, 2007, 05:35:37 pm »
I have been using Code::Blocks on Linux for a few months, and recently I have been having a problem where suddenly the cursor changes to this thing that looks like two overlapping documents with one corner of a box around it to the top and left.  In the past, I was able to type Alt-F to open the file menu and it would go back to the regular cursor, but today I can do nothing to get control again.  A co-worker that is also using C::B said he has the same problem sometimes, but he can close C::B and lose his work when it happens.  I can't even do that.  The mouse moves around, but even when I move it out of the C::B window, it does not change, and nothing responds mouse clicks or to key presses on the keyboard.

It seems like this always happens when I am highlighting text, but I can't be entirely positive that is the case.  Anybody else see this or know what is going on.  How do I get out of this "mode"?

Offline Jenna

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: Strange cursor and window locked up
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2007, 06:18:14 pm »
What you describe is most likely the drag-cursor.
It appears for example if you have some text highlighted , then left-click into it and move the mouse without releasing the mouse  button.
It also can happen, if you left-click into a picture and move the mouse.

Normally the cursor goes away, when you release the mouse-button or you press ESC.

Perhaps the switch under your mouse-buttons doesn't work correctly.
Have you ever tried another mouse ?

tgsauder

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2007, 09:21:19 pm »