Author Topic: create Project for Windows and Linux  (Read 4437 times)

Offline new-c::b-user

• Single posting newcomer
create Project for Windows and Linux
« on: September 14, 2007, 01:08:03 pm »
Hi everybody,

i'm quite new to codeblocks and i installed codeblocks (nightly) on windows without any problems. I also installed it on Ubuntu 7.04 successfully. I created a new wxwidget project under windows and this runs fine there. Now i wanted to use this project in linux too and setted up a svn for this.

But the project won't compile because of '-mthreads' is a typical MinGW option :-)
So my question is: What must i do to have a real cross OS project?
The next question is how to handle the compiler and linker options?
In Windows i linked against C:\Programme\wxWidgets-2.8.4\lib\gcc_dll\libwxmsw28u.a
And how to handle the windows resource? Ok maybe this can be handled via wxresources ...

I searched the forum and wiki, but found nothing about it.
Can anybody give me some hints about this topic?

TIA

mariocup

Re: create Project for Windows and Linux
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2007, 01:48:31 pm »
Hi,

one solution is to have to build targets for windows and linux, or you may attach a script to a build target and test the operating system to switch between different settings.

Offline Biplab

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Biplab's Blog
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2007, 06:47:22 pm »
i'm quite new to codeblocks and i installed codeblocks (nightly) on windows without any problems. I also installed it on Ubuntu 7.04 successfully. I created a new wxwidget project under windows and this runs fine there. Now i wanted to use this project in linux too and setted up a svn for this.

Create a blank wxWidgets project on Linux. Then add your sources to the project. You'll need to maintain two project files for your project. You can't use your Windows project file on Linux.
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline Jenna

• Administrator
  • Lives here!