Author Topic: CRT2.O problem  (Read 23236 times)

Offline net

• Single posting newcomer
CRT2.O problem
« on: August 15, 2007, 01:10:24 am »
hi guys

im a c++ programmer, recently i ve installed windows vista then
codeblocks and i can't link even a hello world program!
on windows xp i ve compiled this succesfully but on vista it gives me the crt2.o error

ld says:

-------------- Build: Release in test ---------------
mingw32-gcc.exe -Wall -fexceptions -O2  -IC:\CB\include -IC:\CB\lib\gcc\mingw32\3.4.5\include -IC:\CB\include  -c C:\CB\TEST\test\main.c -o C:\CB\TEST\test\.objs\main.o
mingw32-g++.exe -LC:\CB\lib -LC:\CB\lib  -o test.exe C:\CB\TEST\test\.objs\main.o   -s 
ld: crt2.o: No such file: No such file or directory
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
0 errors, 0 warnings

i ve searched all over the internet about this bug but i cant find the solution to this problem
anyone knows how to link this?

thanks in advance

Offline net

Re: CRT2.O problem
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2007, 01:11:35 am »
the crt2.o is installed and i am linking to it
its very strange this

the program was:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
    printf("Hello world!\n");
    return 0;
}

Offline TDragon

• Lives here!
    • TDM-GCC
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2007, 01:12:25 am »
If I recall correctly, you need to add a Windows environment variable named "GCC_EXEC_DIR" "GCC_EXEC_PREFIX" which points to the "lib" subdirectory (which contains crt2.o).
https://jmeubank.github.io/tdm-gcc/ - TDM-GCC compiler suite for Windows (GCC 9.2.0 2020-03-08, 32/64-bit, no extra DLLs)

Offline net

« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2007, 01:47:32 am »

i ve done that but it doesnt work
the crt2.o is still missing

Offline net

« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2007, 04:16:16 am »
i ve copied the crt2.o and the crtbegin.o to the base project folder AND IT WORKED UNDER WINDOWS VISTA
but nows ld give me this error

-------------- Build: Release in test ---------------