Author Topic: Functions-> Snytax Highlight  (Read 5352 times)

Mati

Functions-> Snytax Highlight
« on: June 21, 2007, 08:19:53 pm »
Hello,

i'm new to this forum.
It is my first time i will use code::blocks and i have just a little question.
There are a few syntax highlight features in the editor settings section. But i'm missing a highlighting for functions....? Am i blind or
is this feature not supported ? Furthermore i'd like to highlight special keywords like typedefs or structs in different color - is this possible?

What is the keyword section? I could neither find any help within the forum nor in the documentation ...

Thanks a lot!

Offline lubos

• Almost regular
Re: Functions-> Snytax Highlight
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2007, 07:44:15 pm »
i didnt find this also  :(

Offline rickg22

• Lives here!
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2007, 07:54:01 pm »
Most of us don't have experience with Visual Studio, we built Codeblocks from scratch. Please explain what's that "functions highlighting", so we could add this feature at a later stage.

Also, the "keywords" tell the editor what are the reserved keywords of your language, for example, in C++ we have "for", "while", "if", etc. Codeblocks allows also to highlight your "custom" keywords. But I didn't program that feature and I don't use it, so I couldn't tell you how it works :P

If you want to highlight a particular type of variables, I'm afraid this isn't possible (yet). However, you can highlight ALL the user-defined variables in a different color. That's the "normal" color :) I set my normal color to bold blue for PHP, and the keywords to black. This way only the function names will be highlighted in blue.

The syntax highlight feature is part of the Scintilla editor component, perhaps you can find more info with them.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2007, 08:01:26 pm by rickg22 »

Mati

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2007, 08:31:08 pm »
Thanks for reply,