Author Topic: Newbie here, wanting help, please move my post to correct forum if not allowed  (Read 1292 times)

Offline caffycaffy4414

• Multiple posting newcomer
Hi. I am a literal noob when it comes to code::blocks so please feel free to move my post elsewhere (tell me where?).
All I want to know is, why is my file not saving when I try and save it. I have a YouTube video here explaining my problem within 90 seconds.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CL7ryEZ3VvA

My code is very basic, it is this

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
    printf("There once was a man named Paul\n");
    printf("He was 66 years old\n");
    printf("He really liked the name Paul\n");
    printf("He did not like being 66\n");
    return 0;
}

Yet instead, it brings up my old code and will not save or therefore run, this new one. Can anyone help?

Thank you so much in advance.
Catherine.
CW

Offline Miguel Gimenez

• Developer
  • Lives here!
Post a full rebuild log (see this link).

Are you using a local folder (in the video looks like you are using the OneDrive folder)?

Offline caffycaffy4414

I am running Code::Blocks version Code::Blocks 20.03 on MyOperatingSystem
Microsoft Windows 11 Home Version 10.0.22621 Build 22621. The compiler I use is GNU GCC Compiler.

When I ... attempt to save the current code I have made and then try to 'Build and Run', it should bring up what I have typed (being 'There once was a man named Paul
He was 66 years old
He really liked the name Paul
He did not being 66'),
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
    char characterName [] = "Paul";
    int characterAge = 66;
    printf("There once was a man named %s\n", characterName);
    return 0;

but instead it comes up with a triangle shape that I originally created using basic code, instead.

Build log:
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
    char characterName [] = "Paul";
    int characterAge = 66;