Author Topic: Problems building C++ code using a Serial library  (Read 7493 times)

Offline PaulUK

• Single posting newcomer
Problems building C++ code using a Serial library
« on: June 16, 2020, 04:28:44 pm »
Dear All,

First post here.  I'm quite new to CodeBlocks and working on a wxWidgets based GUI that uses serial coms to talk to an external device.

I got the program to work (using Windows 7) when using CreateFile to setup the serial port.  Now I'd like to use a library found here:
https://www.codeproject.com/Articles/992/Serial-library-for-C

I put the serial.cpp and serial.h files in the project folder but when I go to build, I get the following error.

undefined reference to 'CSerial::Open(......)

This is the function that is supposed to open a serial port.  Has anyone else had issues with this library in CodeBlocks?  It was initially used with MS VS circa 2003.  I have included serial.h at the top of the main program file.  Thank you.

Online stahta01

• Lives here!
    • My Best Post
Re: Problems building C++ code using a Serial library
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2020, 05:05:00 pm »
I put the serial.cpp and serial.h files in the project folder but when I go to build, I get the following error.

Did you add serial.cpp to the CB project? If not, try doing so.

If you do not wish to add serial.cpp to the CB project; then, you need to build the library and link to it.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline PaulUK

« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2020, 05:22:57 pm »

Did you add serial.cpp to the CB project? If not, try doing so.

If you do not wish to add serial.cpp to the CB project; then, you need to build the library and link to it.

Tim S.

Hello Tim,
Yes, I added the serial.cpp and .h files to the project and they appear in the sources and headers tree. 

Offline PaulUK

« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2020, 05:30:46 pm »