Author Topic: Can't build "hello world". --- mac, gcc --- unexpected EOF --- Status 2.  (Read 5204 times)

Offline RichardWayneSmith

• Single posting newcomer
Hi all,
  I am an intermediate level c++ programmer trying to set up code blocks and gcc.

I am running on an old mac (snow leopard - mac tower) and using the current version of Code::Blocks IDE.  I am not planning to do anything amazing.  Just write a few simple programs to get back in practice with c++, and modify some text files.

FIRST:
I believe that I have the gcc complier correctly installed.  When I go into the terminal, and type "gcc -v" I get:

Towers-Mac-Pro:~ tower$ gcc -v
     Using built-in specs.
     Target: i686-apple-darwin10
      Configured with: /var/tmp/gcc/gcc-5664~38/src/configure --disable-checking --enable-werror --prefix=/usr --mandir=/share/man --enable-     languages=c,objc,c++,obj-c++ --program-transform-name=/^[cg][^.-]*$/s/$/-4.2/ --with-slibdir=/usr/lib --build=i686-apple-darwin10 --program-prefix=i686-apple-darwin10- --host=x86_64-apple-darwin10 --target=i686-apple-darwin10 --with-gxx-include-dir=/include/c++/4.2.1
      Thread model: posix
      gcc version 4.2.1 (Apple Inc. build 5664)

SECOND:
The Code::Blocks application is placed in my application folder.  (Nestled between Chess.app and Dashboard.app.)

THIRD:
In my programming projects folder, I have a testProject folder.  This currently contains:

bin (folder)
     doxygen (folder)
     main.cpp    // This is the standard hello world console app.  i added a few characters to "hello world" just to make sure that the right hello world is running.
                      // I am sure that the c++ program is syntactically correct.
     obj  (folder)
     testProject.cbp
     testProject.layout

FOURTH:
Inside the Code::Blocks, IDE, in the left hand window pane, I see:

Workspace
          testProject
               Sources
                    main.cpp

From this location / state, I try to build the project.

FIFTH: