Author Topic: I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10  (Read 5782 times)

Offline yaoyansi

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 31
I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10
« on: August 30, 2014, 01:57:42 pm »
Hi all,
I wanna create a MSVC like keyboard shortcut for my CodeBlocks in CentOS7.
I mapped several keys and it works fine. But I can't map Debug>NextLine to F10 successfully.
I mapped Debug>NextLine to F10, but when I launch debugging and press F10, the File menu pops out.
And I can't mapp "Menu bar>File" to another keyboard shortcut.

Could you tell me how to map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10?
Cheers
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 12:51:32 pm by yaoyansi »

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5317
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2014, 02:18:03 pm »
It works fine here, I'm working under WinXP, see the screen shot below:



If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13153
    • Travis build status
Re: I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2014, 02:31:55 pm »
F10 on GTK is a reserved key and cannot be mapped by applications... Search the forum for hacks...
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline cacb

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
Re: I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2014, 05:47:44 pm »
Hi all,
I wanna create a MSVC like keyboard shortcut for my CodeBlocks.
I mapped several keys and it works fine. But I can't map Debug>NextLine to F10 successfully.
I mapped Debug>NextLine to F10, but when I launch debugging and press F10, the File menu pops out.
And I can't mapp "Menu bar>File" to another keyboard shortcut.

Could you tell me how to map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10?
Cheers

I always wanted to do the exact same thing under Linux (I am guessing you are on Linux). After using MSVC (and still using it) "forever" on windows, those keys are stuck in my debug fingers and Linux debugging is therefore not as pleasant.

Unfortunately, some of those keys appear to be reserved under Linux/gtk.

Offline yaoyansi

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2014, 12:53:54 pm »
(I am guessing you are on Linux)
Yes, I'm on CentOS7

Offline yaoyansi

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2014, 12:55:05 pm »
F10 on GTK is a reserved key and cannot be mapped by applications... Search the forum for hacks...
Do you mean the hacks for GTK? or for C::B?
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 12:57:09 pm by yaoyansi »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13153
    • Travis build status
Re: I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2014, 01:29:05 pm »
There were post with patches for codeblocks that removed this limitation, I don't know if they still work thought.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline yaoyansi

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2014, 01:32:39 pm »
It works fine here, I'm working under WinXP, see the screen shot below:
Yes, my codeblocks also shows 'F10' for the shortcut of 'Next line' in the menu. But it doesn't work.

Offline yaoyansi

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: I can't map keyboard shortcut "Debug>Next line" to F10
« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2014, 01:35:28 pm »
I read this thread http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-create-keyboard-shortcuts-in-gnome/, and had a try, but failed.

Here is the details.
In CentOS7, here is the GUI interface for setting keyboard shortcuts:
Applications> SystemTools>Settings>Keyboard>Shortcuts

I check all the shortcuts, F10 is not mapped to any shortcuts.
I also changed the shortcuts of  'Open the application menu' from Super+F10 to Alt+F.
 After I open C::B, F10 still can't be mapped to "Bebug>Next line".
:'(

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13153
    • Travis build status
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]