Author Topic: cbEvents  (Read 15916 times)

Offline frithjofh

• Regular
cbEvents
« on: May 31, 2012, 01:21:22 pm »
Hi everyone,

I know there are already a lot of topics regarding this, but I think it would really be time to address this theme.

I think the devs should reorganize some events and when they are posted. Especially the EVT_PROJECT_CLOSE and EVT_PROJECT_OPEN. Right now these events are not very clear in my humble opinion, and their behavior still less.

The  EVT_PROJECT_CLOSE gets sent  on closing a project. After that all editors of this project are closed and send their EVT_EDITOR_CLOSE event. When this happens, it seems, that the project is gone already, or what? But there is no EVT_PROJECT_CLOSED event. So a project does cease to exist before its editors?? Pardon me, I am no programmer with a degree or anything, but this just sounds like crap. After project close then, I cannot get the projects name for instance, using an editor to get at it? But I still have an editor for a file in a closed project?

The same applies to EVT_PROJECT_OPEN. First it opens all editors of the "project" (but there really still is no project), so I can't get to any project related information using one of these editors. Then, when all its editors are open, then the project begins to exist? After its own content? Very strange, and by the way, making work difficult without need for anyone developing something in or for c::b.

Well, just my little opinion, but searching the forum, I'm not the only one it seems.

So what can I do? Add the two missing events EVT_PROJECT_CLOSED and EVT_PROJECT_OPENED? I'm not sure if I'm able do change the way c::b opens and closes projects (for my pity faculties). I am also aware that making changes there can and will break a lot of stuff, topmost the plugins. But I do think this should be changed, it is really a messy heritage to carry around.

Regards

frithjofh