Author Topic: Problems with resource path includes in VS2005 in simple program  (Read 10182 times)

Offline DCKelley

• Single posting newcomer
I am new to Code::Blocks but evaluating it for a project where we want the same IDE for VS2005~8~10 / Ubuntu, and an OMAP project, all to use GTK for the GUI as we move away from mother Microsoft.  My need is to confirm our favorite code libraries can all be used across the 3 environments.  For this Code::Blocks seems like the ideal choice.  But I cannot seem to get even a simple Window MFC example (a dialog box, text, and a button) to run under Code Blocks as yet. 

For the life of me I can’t get the resource compiler (rc.exe) to point to the include files.  [cl.exe works fine] The various global compiler settings seem valid, and the search directory tab path values are all correct.  I am running with a command line of:

rc.exe /I"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\include"  -fo"Release Win32\TestApp.res" TestApp.rc

and getting back:
TestApp.rc(11) : fatal error RC1015: cannot open include file 'afxres.h'.

The file 'afxres.h' happens to be the first include in the resources file. But rc is not seeing any of the ~\VC\include directory yet.  If I move individual files to my working directory, it sees them and moves to the next one - but there must be some newbie dumb environment thing I am not doing here.   

This was built from the “codeblocks-10.05mingw-setup.exe” release if that might matter, running on a Win7 64 bit OS.
Any Hints?

Offline MortenMacFly

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: Problems with resource path includes in VS2005 in simple program
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 09:37:10 am »
rc.exe /I"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\include"  -fo"Release Win32\TestApp.res" TestApp.rc

and getting back:
TestApp.rc(11) : fatal error RC1015: cannot open include file 'afxres.h'.