Author Topic: linking static librarys with codeblocks  (Read 3344 times)

Offline c0dezombie

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
linking static librarys with codeblocks
« on: March 03, 2010, 09:40:49 pm »
Hi I was wondering know where i can find a step-by-step guide to linking a static library with your program, i tried setting the directories for the projects compiler and linker to the path where the library file is and specifying the library to be used, but afterwards my program just does not build, no errors are reported, simply nothing happens even when i choose to build and run it. Anyone know what my problem might be?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7591
    • My Best Post
Re: linking static librarys with codeblocks
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2010, 09:58:14 pm »
Turn on Full Compiler Logging then ask basic programming questions in a c/c++ programming support group.
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_an_compiler_problem.3F


THIS IS NOT A BASIC PROGRAMMING SUPPORT GROUP.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline c0dezombie

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: linking static librarys with codeblocks
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2010, 10:03:41 pm »
well err.. linking and stuff.. is not really a programming issue, it is slightly different with every IDE. its easier to do it on the commandline but then you don't get to use projects and stuff. But anyway sorry about that I just thought that programming was coding and stuff.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7591
    • My Best Post
Re: linking static librarys with codeblocks
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2010, 10:16:44 pm »
FYI:

User Manual
http://www.codeblocks.org/user-manual

If, you have a Code::Blocks question ask here; but, GIVE INFO!!!
Compiler and Operation System and Code::Blocks Version.

Too many newbies who have never written one line of code ask questions just like yours.

The need for step by step directions means you DO NOT know who to use a Compiler and Linker in my opinion. Therefore, I directed you to use a different site.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline c0dezombie

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: linking static librarys with codeblocks
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2010, 10:35:18 pm »
hehe, ok, but you can't mean that literally. cause if I still had not "written one line of code".. err I would be asking why my helloWorld program is not working, i don't think i would not need to link anything besides the standard libraries required to write output to the console... u guys seem to err have your hands full.. and i tried all that stuff on the manual and it is not working so.. i guess i will ditch the IDE for now and do it manually.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7591
    • My Best Post
Re: linking static librarys with codeblocks
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2010, 12:06:55 am »
hehe, ok, but you can't mean that literally. cause if I still had not "written one line of code".. err I would be asking why my helloWorld program is not working, i don't think i would not need to link anything besides the standard libraries required to write output to the console... u guys seem to err have your hands full.. and i tried all that stuff on the manual and it is not working so.. i guess i will ditch the IDE for now and do it manually.

If you know how to do it on the command line; TURN ON full compiler logging and maybe you can ask real questions instead help-me type ones.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org