Author Topic: Compiling and running and even starting  (Read 2743 times)

Spoony

Compiling and running and even starting
« on: July 13, 2009, 08:50:26 pm »
Hey guys, newbie here to c++ and to the forums, so hello from me :)

I thought i'd take up programming properly as im only working/worked with matlab and pascal (mathematical physics student here).

So basically i install the version of C::B that comes with a compilier no worries there, problems start when i choose to make a new project, console application one. On the left in the workspace im greeted by the C::B logo but with nothing underneath it, no drop down 'sources' folder and no .cpp file to edit. I open and close the IDE a few times, mess about with menus and right clicking in various places to no avail. I finally reinstall and try again, still no sources folder or .cpp file, a bit disheartend i go and do something else, 5 minutes pass and i click back on the program the sources folder and .cpp file have magically appeared! I have in front of me a shiney example program promising to print hello world upon my moniter, i excitedly hit F9 in anticipatory glee only to find that nothing happens... i sigh and have a little sit down, 20 minutes pass and im distracted by the moniter as my program has just comiled and ran itself, Hello World! Manicaly taunting me from my desk.

Now i don't know if this is all normal but in both pascal and matlab id be able to start up the program near instantly and compile a hello world program in seconds. So is it meant to be like this? (I understand C++ is a higher level language than those two) Or is something wrong?

TL:DR version; My C::B is taking forever to start up and compile a simple hello world program.

Spoony

Re: Compiling and running and even starting
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2009, 12:42:57 pm »
Sorry i forgot to include information;
Im running vista home premium