Author Topic: space bar doesn't work  (Read 33974 times)

Offline matrem

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
space bar doesn't work
« on: April 23, 2008, 09:20:48 pm »
Hi,

I'm under linux ubuntu 8.04 rc with codeblock 8.02.
All work great until yesterday, I don't know why, but my space bar does'nt add space in code blocks editor view...  :?

In fact it have the same effect than ctrl space.

I tried to remove .codeblocks configure directory and even reinstall it, but nothing change.

what can I do?  :(

Offline JGM

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 518
  • Got to practice :)
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2008, 09:46:52 pm »
Does your space bar works on other applications, because if not you should get a new keyboard :wink:

Offline Myzu

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2008, 12:09:40 am »
hello,

I have the same problem : the space bar doesn't work any more after the upgrade of my Ubuntu 8.04.
The space bar works great on all other applications (firefox, gedit, openOffice.org, ...) and on the search pop up but doesn't in the editor's view. The only way to add a space in the editor is to copy and paste an other space or press Ctrl + Alt + Space.

I tried to delete ./codeblocks and reinstall it but it doesn't works.

Offline JGM

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 518
  • Got to practice :)
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2008, 04:25:39 am »
thats scary since I want to update to the new version of ubuntu  :?

Offline Barking_Mad

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2008, 05:01:16 am »
Im currently on U8.04 Hardy release, no problem with space here with CB 5010.

Ive modified my Editor options for Tabs/Spaces somewhat though.  8)


WooF! WooF! - Ubuntu 8.10 & CB 5432 & GCC 4.3.2
To see the world in a grain of sand and heaven in a wild flower
To hold infinity in the palm of your hand and eternity in an hour - W.B

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7265
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2008, 09:47:31 am »
The problem does not only occur with C::B's editor:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/rhythmbox/+bug/221112

alex_is_there

  • Guest
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2008, 04:18:39 pm »
Same problem here with Ubuntu 8.04 and Code::Block svn 5020, are there any patch ?

Offline libfab

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2008, 02:28:39 am »
I'm relieved to notice I'm not alone in experiencing this freaky bug.
I'm under Ubuntu 8.04 release.
The bug appears to be related to code-completion : on hitting the space bar the code completion window appears to show options.
Tried to erase all configuration files to no avail, this does not seem to be a configuration-related bug.
Oddly, when I create a brand-new project with an empty file, the bug vanishes into thin air, and everything is back to normal for a while (yes, try it!) even when I swap to a "normal" C project.
Then the bug comes back on launching the app again ...

Is this a French keyboard-related Ubuntu issue however? The Ubuntu forum link suggests so to some extent.

Fab

sharky.fr

  • Guest
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2008, 02:43:42 am »
Someone found how to fix it.

Code: [Select]
$ sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Then comment this line :

Quote
Option      "XkbVariant"   "oss"

Then save the file and reboot.

---

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/rhythmbox/+bug/221112/comments/14
http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=530123
« Last Edit: May 01, 2008, 02:48:31 am by sharky.fr »

alex_is_there

  • Guest
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2008, 10:10:12 am »
Works Great Thanks a lot !!!  :D

Offline libfab

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2008, 12:04:25 pm »
Worked fine for me too, thanks sharky.

Fab

sharky.fr

  • Guest
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2008, 04:09:28 pm »
Glad to see it helped you :D

Offline libfab

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2008, 06:48:58 pm »
Some news of the maddening "space bar" issue which seems to affect French keyboard layouts.
The "Sharky fix" seemed to work all right, yet it was not enough for Kunbuntu (I have a fresh Kubuntu 4 platform).

After browsing the bug posts kindly given to me by Jens, I have come to the following fix, which works both on Ubuntu and Kubuntu and so far has the added bonus of apparently thwarting the "cursor shift" bug that I reported on other thread:


(/etc/X11/xorg.conf)

replace "XkbVariant"  "oss"
with      "XkbVariant"  "latin9"   

add below a full line:
##libfab fix:
    Option     "XkbOptions"  "nbsp:none"

Actually the bug seems to arise from nbsp settings rather than from "oss" itself. On Kubuntu, commenting out "XkbVariant" "oss"  was not enough, as it was with gnome Ubuntu.

I have not tried to check if, under gnome Ubuntu, it still is possible to preserve "XkbVariant"  "oss" if the "nbsp:none" setting is added.

Another less intrusive method is to use setxkbmap (just check the man page) on a command line:

setxkbmap  -option nbsp:none

is well enough under Kubuntu. You can possibly add:

-model pc 105 -layout fr -variant latin 9

if it is not enough.

Hope this helps.

Fab


Offline wilbefast

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2009, 05:46:18 pm »
I know this is necromancy but it's exactly the same problem so a little context is probably helpful:

I've recently swapped Windows XP for Ubuntu and re-installed Codeblocks - suddenly I get an auto-complete pop-up whenever I press space so the only way to add spaces is to copy paste them  :( I'm using a French (AZERTY) keyboard setup - both Ubuntu and Codeblocks are the newest versions (I just downloaded them see).

I tried using the fix but there is no "XkbVariant" line in my xorg.conf file so I can't replace it :-S
This may be because I'm using the standard Ubuntu release with Gnome rather than Kubuntu. Here is what the file looks like for me:

Code: [Select]
# xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
# in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
# here are ignored.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
DefaultDepth 24
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7265
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: space bar doesn't work
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2009, 05:56:11 pm »
I know this is necromancy but it's exactly the same problem so a little context is probably helpful:

I've recently swapped Windows XP for Ubuntu and re-installed Codeblocks - suddenly I get an auto-complete pop-up whenever I press space so the only way to add spaces is to copy paste them  :( I'm using a French (AZERTY) keyboard setup - both Ubuntu and Codeblocks are the newest versions (I just downloaded them see).

I tried using the fix but there is no "XkbVariant" line in my xorg.conf file so I can't replace it :-S
This may be because I'm using the standard Ubuntu release with Gnome rather than Kubuntu. Here is what the file looks like for me:

xorg.conf is no longer used for keyboardsettings, it's done via hal now.

Searching google for
Code: [Select]
xkbvariant ubuntu hal should give an answer (at least it does here in germany).
I can give you a link to german ubuntu site, but I don't know if it can help you: http://wiki.ubuntuusers.de/HAL/Eingabeger%C3%A4te .

EDIT:
This should be the same in english: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Input