Author Topic: Going to lines from the Build Messages window  (Read 8502 times)

rQQt

  • Guest
Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« on: February 21, 2007, 08:09:06 am »
Hello folks

I'm wondering if whenever i'm building something and getting some code errors in the build messages window, is it possible to click on the error and actually go to that line in the code window? I'm sure there's an option for something like this somewhere but I just couldn't figure out how to do it.

Thanks in advance
R.

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5490
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2007, 10:23:28 am »
that's the standard behavior this should work, you have an example project with errors/warnings, where this fails ??

rQQt

  • Guest
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2007, 11:47:58 pm »
This situation happens everytime on all my projects. I'm using gcc and vc2005 as my compilers. I've tried using the latest build of CB, deleting the cb settings profile, but nothing seems to help.

Well now it seems like a problem with my system, i've tried it on a system at school, the error going works ok. I'll try to figure it out, but thanks for the help.


Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2007, 04:27:09 pm »
This situation happens everytime on all my projects. I'm using gcc and vc2005 as my compilers.
Would have been nice if you told us in the first place. ;-)
It seems the RegExp'es for the output parsing of this compiler are broken / incorrect. Unfortunately I don't have that compiler. You can try to fix it yourself in the advanced settings of the compiler: Settings -> Compiler and Debugger -> (MSVC2005) -> "Other Settings", Button "Advanced options" (say "Yes") -> Tab "Output parsing".
Try to play around with the RegExp'es there and if you (or anybody else) find the "right solution" please step forward.
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

rQQt

  • Guest
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2007, 08:53:44 pm »
This situation happens everytime on all my projects. I'm using gcc and vc2005 as my compilers.
Would have been nice if you told us in the first place. ;-)
It seems the RegExp'es for the output parsing of this compiler are broken / incorrect. Unfortunately I don't have that compiler. You can try to fix it yourself in the advanced settings of the compiler: Settings -> Compiler and Debugger -> (MSVC2005) -> "Other Settings", Button "Advanced options" (say "Yes") -> Tab "Output parsing".
Try to play around with the RegExp'es there and if you (or anybody else) find the "right solution" please step forward.
With regards, Morten.

Ok thanks for the pointer. I'll try that, and if i had some luck and fix it, i'll post it here.
Thanks.

Offline Flecha

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2008, 01:38:42 am »
I am having the same problem that rQQt.
Using GCC and CodeBlocks SVN 5162.
Searched all the options but have no idea how to solve it...

EDIT: I don't know if it has anything about, but when I try to debug a code it shows no watchers. Even when I place they when the program is running. But when the program ends, the watchers appear and say "someVariable : No symbol "someVariable in current context". And sometimes the debug doesn't even open.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2008, 01:48:23 pm by Flecha »

Offline Flecha

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2008, 01:46:39 am »
Which files should I delete to reset all the configuration? Can it help me?
(I am using Ubuntu)
« Last Edit: August 01, 2008, 11:36:54 pm by Flecha »

Offline Flecha

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2008, 12:02:02 am »
I tried to uninstall and then install the version from the oficial site. (ubuntu binaries version)
And I still have the same problem.
Tried to delete my ".codeblocks" folder from my home folder.
And I still have the same problem.

I installed in another machine, and it works fine there.
Any ideas?

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2008, 12:28:56 am »
I tried to uninstall and then install the version from the oficial site. (ubuntu binaries version)
And I still have the same problem.
Tried to delete my ".codeblocks" folder from my home folder.
And I still have the same problem.

I installed in another machine, and it works fine there.
Any ideas?


What language settings do you have on your system ?
The regexes C::B uses are for english systems.
If your compiler output uses another language it might not be parsed correctly.

If that causes the problem , you can set the environment to an english one using the envvars-plugin.

In "Settings -> Environment -> Environment variables" I have added a new variable and use "LC_ALL" as "key" and "en_US.UTF-8" as "Value" (I normally use german utf-8 settings for my debian system).

Offline Flecha

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2008, 01:03:53 am »
The messages were partialy in portuguese (my system language).
Using Environment variables changed them back to english. But it still doesn't work.
Strange is that it was working some days ago, and now it doesn't.

Offline Flecha

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2008, 11:55:23 am »
up

Offline Flecha

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2008, 05:11:53 am »
I tried loggin in with another user in the same machine and codeblocks works fine.
The problem is only with this user...

nplatis

  • Guest
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2008, 05:22:41 pm »
I installed CodeBlocks 8.02 some days ago, and this behaviour comes and goes without me changing anything. The messages seem to be parsed OK, since the "Build messages" window has the correct information (including line number). However, clicking on a message does not, in most cases, take me to the corresponding line. I just downloaded the latest nightly (svn: 5182) and still the same...

The thing is, yesterday CodeBlocks worked OK.

Strange...

nplatis

  • Guest
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2008, 06:35:00 pm »
Well, after some more testing, the problem seems to be related to the path of the source file.
In my case, if the path of the file contains greek characters then the problem occurs, whereas if it contains only english characters CodeBlocks works fine (I have not tested with other characters, eg accented latin characters).

I hope this helps.

Offline Flecha

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Going to lines from the Build Messages window
« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2008, 07:39:53 pm »
You saved my day!  :D
Thanks.

I speak portuguese, so some of my folders have ó, á, é, ê, ç...
And the files were in a folder that had ó in the name.
Chaged them to a folder without it, and now its working.
Thanks, again!