Author Topic: How to reduce the size of wxWidgets .exes produced by mingw?  (Read 13198 times)

marty

How to reduce the size of wxWidgets .exes produced by mingw?
« on: August 08, 2006, 12:12:47 am »
Hello,

I'm new to Code::Blocks and wxWidgets and was wondering if anyone knew of any good techniques for reducing the size of a "Hello World" application using wxWidgets and compiled by mingw. I followed the wiki page tutorial for compiling a Unicode, release build, monolithic DLL with mingw-make, but the final DLL was about 9MB! I got the sample program of Code::Blocks to compile and run correctly with the DLL, but I don't want the program size to be so large. (By the way, I believe there were two instances of C-strings that needed to be converted to Unicode strings with a macro in the sample source code outputted by C::B.)

I also built a Unicode, release build, non-monolithic library (not a DLL) and had success with getting that to work and link with the sample code using C::B and mingw, but the resulting .exe was about 5MB. I removed some extra libraries like opengl and obdc that I wasn't using, but that didn't help the size of the exe much.

With MS VC++ 6.0, I was able to compile the wxWidgets library (release + non Unicode + non DLL), and could link it into a "Hello World" application resulting in an .exe size of only 960KB. I only included the base and core wxWidget libraries and the typical Windows libraries. I would really like to use Code::Blocks instead, especially since it is open-source and contains wxSmith, but I just can't seem to be able to keep the size of the resulting application down.

I tried linking the library I built with MS VC++ 6.0 compiling with the mingw compiler of C::B, but I got a number of link errors. I tried doing that in hopes that I'd get the reduced size I could achieve with VC++. Here is some of the output:

Code
Project   : wxWidgets application
Compiler  : GNU GCC Compiler (called directly)