Author Topic: Default Project Location  (Read 235 times)

Offline huycan

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Default Project Location
« on: May 23, 2020, 08:47:19 pm »
Windows. I create a shortcut to the CB execution file and change its startup directory: so every time, I choose File/Open... CB open-dialog points to the desired location. But if I click on the Open Existing Project link on the startup page... it always points to the Document location... Is there anyway to change that? Or it is hard-coding into the start page?

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2730
Re: Default Project Location
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2020, 01:56:21 am »
I think this is some windows default behavior?

Offline huycan

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Default Project Location
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2020, 06:00:17 am »
Yes... that is the Windows default behavior... The question is there anyway to change it?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6911
    • My Best Post
Re: Default Project Location
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2020, 07:01:17 am »
To find out how to change Windows default behavior ask on an Windows support website.

To fix your problem:
  From Windows Explorer
  Cut the folder holding the CB Project and its files and
  Paste into the location you want it to be.

Then, open CB and open the project from the new location.

Tim S.

C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline huycan

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Default Project Location
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2020, 07:42:31 am »
You did not read my question. I know how to do that (create a shortcut). I did that. And it work!!! My question is this: on the Start Page, there is a open existing project link, (no matter what you do), it always open to the Documents directory... Can we change that behavior?

Edit: Now, all of a sudden, that link no longer points to the Documents directory but points to one of my current project... ??? *baffling*
« Last Edit: May 24, 2020, 07:56:54 am by huycan »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6911
    • My Best Post
Re: Default Project Location
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2020, 08:00:55 am »
CB automatically removes links to projects that no longer exists.

I dislike this feature.

Tim S.
 
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org