Author Topic: make Code::Blocks a remote IDE  (Read 7821 times)

Offline uniwin

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
make Code::Blocks a remote IDE
« on: February 17, 2006, 11:34:48 am »
sometimes we may need to develop programs on UNIX but still want IDEs based on Windows. Uniwin is the tool for this purpose. It is a small toolset to make a IDE to be a remote develop environment seemlessly. Uniwin can be downloaded from http://sourceforge.net/projects/uniwin. Uniwin has been tested for Code::Blocks already.

Offline Michael

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: make Code::Blocks a remote IDE
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2006, 11:40:59 am »
Hello,

It seems an interesting tool :). Thanks for the info.

You said that "Uniwin has been tested for Code::Blocks already", but which are the conclusions?

Best wishes,
Michael

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9606
Re: make Code::Blocks a remote IDE
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2006, 12:10:22 pm »
The embedded PDF document says:
"Dev-Cpp, Relo, Code::Blocks, Vide and
Maybe you prefer some other IDEs on windows, such as Dev-Cpp, Code::Blocks, Relo, Vide
and so on. Uniwin can make them remote development environments seamlessly. What you
need to do is just modifying the names of gccs and g++s built-in with them for example
Dev-Cpp or providing them with the pseudo toolchains of Uniwin, such as Relo,
Code::Blocks, Vide."
...it really sounds interesting anyway...
Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline takeshi miya

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1487
Re: make Code::Blocks a remote IDE
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2006, 12:34:16 pm »
Great! :)

If the data is separated enough from the GUI (and uses standard C++) it shouldn't be difficult to make a Code::Blocks plugin, which will be integrated better.

Also I wonder how difficult could be to add support for the inverse, let's say, using Code::Blocks on linux, and compiling remotely on a Windows box, using a MSVC 2003 Free Compiler or even Digital Mars D compiler. :P

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4305
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: make Code::Blocks a remote IDE
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2006, 12:53:33 pm »
Nice work uniwin :)

But I wonder...
Am I supposed to make sense out of this?



[attachment deleted by admin]
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9606
Re: make Code::Blocks a remote IDE
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2006, 01:02:42 pm »
If the data is separated enough from the GUI (and uses standard C++) it shouldn't be difficult to make a Code::Blocks plugin, which will be integrated better.
There is no need fo an integration. Theses are wrapper programs (g++, gcc...). You only need to make a copy of the GCC compiler in C::B and adjust the path's accordingly.  :P
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline takeshi miya

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1487
Re: make Code::Blocks a remote IDE
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2006, 03:29:56 pm »
If the data is separated enough from the GUI (and uses standard C++) it shouldn't be difficult to make a Code::Blocks plugin, which will be integrated better.
There is no need fo an integration. Theses are wrapper programs (g++, gcc...). You only need to make a copy of the GCC compiler in C::B and adjust the path's accordingly.  :P

I'm talking about the little GUI:

You know, without having it more integrated it could have the same luck as cbDragScroll (:)) before going to contrib: no users use it, because no users knows it.
Same goes for nice tools like STL GDBSTLFilt, or c++filt, they aren't more widespread here because they aren't "GUI user friendly" integrated.

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5258
Re: make Code::Blocks a remote IDE
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2006, 03:35:37 pm »
Quote
You know, without having it more integrated it could have the same luck as cbDragScroll (Smile) before going to contrib: no users use it, because no users knows it.

wait and see ...

Offline uniwin

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: make Code::Blocks a remote IDE
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2006, 12:58:55 am »

I'm talking about the little GUI:

You know, without having it more integrated it could have the same luck as cbDragScroll (:)) before going to contrib: no users use it, because no users knows it.
Same goes for nice tools like STL GDBSTLFilt, or c++filt, they aren't more widespread here because they aren't "GUI user friendly" integrated.

I changed it to XP style now, it looks a little better.