Author Topic: using koolplot  (Read 19311 times)

Offline liduz

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
using koolplot
« on: March 25, 2012, 09:05:57 pm »
Hi,
I want to plot a graph using C. So, I was trying to use koolplot (http://koolplot.codecutter.org/) as it says koolplot is pre-installed in Codeblocks-EP.
So, I tried simply copied the code on the site and tried to compile, but I got error (koolplot.h: No such file or directory). I have Code::Blocks 10.05 (not Codeblocks EP).

So, my questions is: how can I compile koolplot program in Code::Blocks.

Thank you.

Offline Radek

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: using koolplot
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2012, 11:22:51 pm »
I haven't seen koolplot anywhere in my Code Blocks but it need not matter. The error often says that a header or a library has not been found. Therefore, install koolpkot, open your project, set path to koolplot headers in Build Options -> Search Directories and set path to koolplot libraries in Build Options -> Linker Settings. Compile. You should pass. You can also create a custom "koolplot project" with these paths preset. Later on, you can write koolplot projects without setting the paths again.

Offline liduz

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: using koolplot
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2012, 01:17:43 am »
Thanks. But it still doesn't work.
CodeBlocks-EP (http://codeblocks.codecutter.org/) says it supports koolplot, but Codeblocks-EP didn't rum in my PC. So, I tried in Code::Blocks IDE. I downloaded the library from the website and liked them. But now, I get error: graphics.h: no such files

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: using koolplot
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2012, 01:50:30 am »
But now, I get error: graphics.h: no such files
I assume it is because:
Quote
* koolplot is available for the MingW (GCC port) compiler. The current version of the WinBGIm library from Colorado University is required to be able to use and compile koolplot.
-> http://codecutter.org/tools/winbgim/

Offline codeur

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 113
    • Code::Blocks EDU-Portable
Re: using koolplot
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2012, 02:08:21 am »
I am the author of koolplot.
The easiest way to use koolplot is to install and run Codeblocks-EP. EP contains all the necessary libraries to run koolplot. EP also provides a koolplot project template to make things easy for beginners. Otherwise you will have to install all the required libraries as indicated on the koolplot page into your own version of  Code::Blocks, add all the necessary flags for the compiler, and link all the correct libraries to obtain the executable (easy enough if you are an experienced programmer. Are you?).

It is probably easier to get to the Codeblocks-EP maintainer (also me) at the contact email given at the bottom of the CodeBlock-EP page to explain your difficulties in running CodeBlocks EDU-Portable on your PC (give all relevant detaiils). I'll then help you to get CodeBlocks EP going.

As indicated on the EP page, Codeblocks-EP is not an official Code::Blocks distribution and is not supported on this forum.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: using koolplot
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2012, 07:02:20 am »
Wrong forum - topic locked. codeur gave enough hints.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ