Author Topic: The debug executable is not set  (Read 12269 times)

Offline AyJay

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
The debug executable is not set
« on: March 27, 2010, 03:24:31 pm »
Hello, this is my first posting on this forum. Can someone help me with my problem please?
Last month I downloaded Codeblocks onto my computer ( I think it's 8.02) and I have been able to use it with no difficulty.
Needing to use a second machine, this morning I downloaded it from the internet onto a friends machine, which also runs Windows XP.
To run a test, I created a simple program to printout a line of text, a 'Hello world' program.  I did this in the same way as I had created programs on my own machine: Create a new blank project and then Empty File, into which I put my code.  I then selected Debug > Start from the menubar, as I always do, except this time I get the error message:

"The debug executable is not set.  To set it, go to "Settings/compiler and debugger", switch to the "programs" tab, and select the debugger program."

Well from the toolbar, I navigate down Settings > Compiler and debugger...

This gives me a Compiler and debugger settings window, but there is not a tab named 'Programs'.  Searching around the various options here, I cannot see either this, 'debugger programs' or anything else that suggests that the name has changed.

I have tried uninstalling/reinstalling, to no avail. Can someone help me please? I would appreciate a speedy reply, as a project is being held up by this and my friend is a little miffed that I am hogging the computer.  It would also help if any instructions are precise, being dyslexic I have difficulty in following vague instructions. Thanks.


Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: The debug executable is not set
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2010, 03:27:27 pm »
Did you try using the right arrow on the tabs right hand side to see all the tabs?
You should see "Toolchain Executable" tab to the right of "search Directories"

Tim S.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2010, 03:32:39 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline AyJay

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The debug executable is not set
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 03:33:41 pm »
Hello Tim,
Yes I did.  The options are:
Compiler settings. 
Linker settings. 
Search directories.
Toolchain executables.
Custom variables.
Other settings.

I have explored them all carefully.

Alan

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: The debug executable is not set
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2010, 03:42:58 pm »
Toolchain executables.

Try this tab again
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline AyJay

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The debug executable is not set
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2010, 03:55:49 pm »
I have just selected the Toolchain executables tab and it gave me a further selection of options.  Under the 'Program files' tab there is a box marked 'debugger' and the option in it is 'gdb.exe'.
Is this what you meant?  Should it be set to something else?

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: The debug executable is not set
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2010, 04:24:52 pm »
I have just selected the Toolchain executables tab and it gave me a further selection of options.  Under the 'Program files' tab there is a box marked 'debugger' and the option in it is 'gdb.exe'.
Is this what you meant?  Should it be set to something else?

No, unless you are using a different debugger!

Did you install gdb?

If not, or you don't know install gdb.exe

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline AyJay

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The debug executable is not set
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2010, 04:34:07 pm »
As far as I recall, I installed codeblocks onto this machine in the same way as on my own. No, I did not install gdb.exe.  Is this something seperate? Where do I get it please?
What is curious is that the downdoad onto my machine worked fine, but not on this one, so something has to be different?

Offline AyJay

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The debug executable is not set
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2010, 04:38:04 pm »
Yes it is there, just did a search for it and it's at  C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin

Offline AyJay

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The debug executable is not set
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2010, 04:43:48 pm »
I've done it!  the default directory specified was c:\minGW and of course it was not there, so I changed the directory path and it worked. Pity Codeblocks had not made this clearer.  Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Alan

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: The debug executable is not set
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2010, 10:47:46 am »
Pity Codeblocks had not made this clearer.

It's stated very clear on the Toolchain executables tab (in red).
Please do not blame C::B if you do not read carefully.
An another thing: C::B can not guess all probably installation directories of MinGW, so a default value is guessed until you change it.