Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Help => Topic started by: thiggs666 on December 14, 2019, 10:59:39 pm

Title: Console output window/black window doesn't appear when building/running code
Post by: thiggs666 on December 14, 2019, 10:59:39 pm
I am running Code::Blocks version Code::13.12 on macOS Version 10.14.6
The compiler I use is GNU GCC Compiler

When I try to build and run any code by either clicking Build > Build & Run or just F9, I get the message "It seems that this project has not been built yet. Do you want to build it now?" Then, whether I click "No," "Cancel," or "Yes," the same thing happens: nothing.

For example/dummy code, if I run:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    char box = 'z';
    cout << box << endl << box << endl;

    return 0;
}

that prompt saying "It seems your project has not been built yet" comes up.

The build log after I ran that code is this:

-------------- Build: Debug in Tutorial (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler)---------------

g++ -Wall -fexceptions -g  -c /Users/teddyhiggins/Desktop/Folders/Tutorial/main.cpp -o obj/Debug/main.o
xcrun: error: invalid active developer path (/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools), missing xcrun at: /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/bin/xcrun
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))
0 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))
 

All the best, and thank you for any help.
Title: Re: Console output window/black window doesn't appear when building/running code
Post by: oBFusCATed on December 14, 2019, 11:03:39 pm
You have to use something newer than 13.12. There are recent night builds for macOS, which work a bit better, but don't expect smooth ride on this OS.
Title: Re: Console output window/black window doesn't appear when building/running code
Post by: thiggs666 on December 14, 2019, 11:20:59 pm
Is there a newer version of Codeblocks available for Mac? If not, would you not recommend using a Mac for C++? Or, would I be better served using Xcode? Thank you.
Title: Re: Console output window/black window doesn't appear when building/running code
Post by: oBFusCATed on December 14, 2019, 11:26:16 pm
There are only night builds. See the sub forum. I'm not using mac too much. Xcode would work a lot better for sure. :)