Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => General (but related to Code::Blocks) => Topic started by: mrpringle on August 18, 2006, 02:41:46 am

Title: just a question about code completion
Post by: mrpringle on August 18, 2006, 02:41:46 am
Hi,
I'm just wondering whether code completion will ever be able to work with wxwidgets, and the includes from mingw, or whether it is too difficult to implement.

Thanks
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: MortenMacFly on August 18, 2006, 08:12:29 am
I'm just wondering whether code completion will ever be able to work with wxwidgets, [...]
Well, it does already, see here:
(http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/2861/wxwidgetsccaj6.png) (http://imageshack.us)
What version (OS, C::B, wxWidets) are you using? (Please always include this information in your posts!)
With regards, Morten.
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: mandrav on August 18, 2006, 08:33:08 am
Hi,
I'm just wondering whether code completion will ever be able to work with wxwidgets, and the includes from mingw, or whether it is too difficult to implement.

Thanks

Have you enabled parsing of all include dirs?
Go to "Settings->Editor->Code-completion & symbols browser", switch to the "Parser" tab and make sure you have checked all three options.
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: tiwag on August 18, 2006, 09:07:14 am
i think we need hotkeys for "local" and "global" mode in order to switch fast without usage of the Settings dialogs (horror)
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: mandrav on August 18, 2006, 10:20:36 am
i think we need hotkeys for "local" and "global" mode in order to switch fast without usage of the Settings dialogs (horror)

I don't think so. It's a setting that you set and never touch it again.
Either you want full symbols parsing (happy with code-completion) or local symbols only (not so happy ;)).

Anyway, we 're going to change the defaults to "enabled" for all three settings.
The defaults are the way they are because, back then, the parser didn't even run in a thread. Globals parsing was a big slowdown at the time. That's not the case anymore though ;).
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: takeshimiya on August 18, 2006, 10:33:21 am
Anyway, we 're going to change the defaults to "enabled" for all three settings.
The defaults are the way they are because, back then, the parser didn't even run in a thread. Globals parsing was a big slowdown at the time. That's not the case anymore though ;).

Now we'll hear a lot of people saying "hey, CodeCompletion works, for the first time!" :lol:
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: mandrav on August 18, 2006, 10:41:38 am
Now we'll hear a lot of people saying "hey, CodeCompletion works, for the first time!" :lol:

That's exactly the point for changing the defaults, Takeshi :)
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: takeshimiya on August 18, 2006, 10:45:49 am
Now we'll hear a lot of people saying "hey, CodeCompletion works, for the first time!" :lol:

That's exactly the point for changing the defaults, Takeshi :)

Just J/K. :mrgreen:
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: mandrav on August 18, 2006, 11:03:58 am
Done: default options changed for everyone.
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: mdelfede on August 18, 2006, 11:09:57 am
Done: default options changed for everyone.

Another (big) question : does it work for local variables ?
For example, I have this code :
Code

  bool Database_Impl::ReplaceObject(GatoCad::DbObject& Old, GatoCad::DbObject& New)
  {
    // first checks if old object belongs to the given database
    if(Old.   <--- Here should pop-up with members of Old variable

In my build it doesn't pop up. Do I miss something ?

Ciao

Max
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: mandrav on August 18, 2006, 11:21:52 am
Another (big) question : does it work for local variables ?

Read this reply (http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3841.msg30379;topicseen#msg30379) I posted in another topic...
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: mdelfede on August 18, 2006, 11:51:14 am
Another (big) question : does it work for local variables ?

Read this reply (http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3841.msg30379;topicseen#msg30379) I posted in another topic...

Ok, if I've well understood, the local stuff is on the way... Am I right ?
Anyway it's really impressive for now.

If I can drop a little suggestion, one interesting thing would be the ability to exclude specfied headers from parsing.
There are some headers (in Boost:: in particular) that are filled with about useless stuffs with regard to code completion.

Ciao

Max
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: mrpringle on August 19, 2006, 02:51:49 pm
here's from the 18th of august build, with default options, wxWidgets 2.6.3
I also did a clean install of codeblocks


[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: just a question about code completion
Post by: nzoltan on August 20, 2006, 11:37:18 am
Hi,

In nightly build (Aug 20), "Edit->Show call tip (SHIFT+CTRL+SPACE)" does not work.