Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Help => Topic started by: shaft on January 30, 2006, 08:51:04 pm

Title: Problem debugger finding source files
Post by: shaft on January 30, 2006, 08:51:04 pm
I am building a project that is 1 application and several DLLs, all built with mingw32 and codeblocks.

Anyways I can't seem to jump into the DLLs because GDB can't find the source files.  If I open up one of the DLL source file and execute "run to cursor" I get the message "No source file named gsosengineroot.cpp".  I've used the debugger configuration to include projects in same workspace, so it is supposedly adding the directories where the dll source code resides.

Whats wierd is I can single step from the main code into the DLL source, I just can't jump to it directly.  Any ideas?
Title: Re: Problem debugger finding source files
Post by: thomas on January 30, 2006, 08:55:02 pm
Use gdb 6.3.
Title: Re: Problem debugger finding source files
Post by: shaft on January 30, 2006, 09:10:05 pm
currently using gdb 6.3.
Title: Re: Problem debugger finding source files
Post by: mandrav on January 30, 2006, 10:03:31 pm
What C::B revision are you using?
Title: Re: Problem debugger finding source files
Post by: shaft on January 30, 2006, 10:05:53 pm
Currently using 1.0 RC 2. 
Title: Re: Problem debugger finding source files
Post by: killerbot on January 30, 2006, 10:36:28 pm
I would suggest an upgrade to one of the latest nightly builds, muchos muchos improvements !!!

You will go like this :  :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

see nightly builds part of the forum
Title: Re: Problem debugger finding source files
Post by: shaft on January 30, 2006, 11:33:28 pm
The newer version seemed to be able to find my source...

Is there any way to speed this up...  It says "breakpint (blah blah blah) pending" for several seconds before it gets to
"breakpoint (blah blah blah) resolved" and finds the file.  Is there a way to start the search for files at specific locations.

thanks
Title: Re: Problem debugger finding source files
Post by: thomas on January 31, 2006, 09:08:17 am
No, starting the debugger takes some time, unluckily.