Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Using Code::Blocks => Topic started by: grofaz on May 08, 2006, 01:53:31 am

Title: How do you use Gnome Terminal instead of Xterm ??
Post by: grofaz on May 08, 2006, 01:53:31 am
Settings -> Environment -> Terminal to Launch Console Programs...

What is the correct parameter list here ?? When I run a program the console window pops up briefly and then closes. Only way to run program from IDE is with debugger using Shift+F7. Help appreciated.
Title: Re: How do you use Gnome Terminal instead of Xterm ??
Post by: MaikoID on October 11, 2008, 06:23:01 pm
bump.
Title: Re: How do you use Gnome Terminal instead of Xterm ??
Post by: genT on October 12, 2008, 02:37:06 pm
"gnome-terminal -x" should help you ;)
Title: Re: How do you use Gnome Terminal instead of Xterm ??
Post by: Wagner de Queiroz on September 16, 2012, 06:33:08 am
I install the Code:Blocks at Ubuntu 12.04 and i dislike the xterm because the size is very small for my screen, Thanks for your hint about the gnome-terminal!
Title: Re: How do you use Gnome Terminal instead of Xterm ??
Post by: oBFusCATed on September 16, 2012, 10:55:45 am
In this topic: http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,16826.0.html
there is a bit more correct description of the way to call gnome-terminal.
Title: Re: How do you use Gnome Terminal instead of Xterm ??
Post by: stefanos_ on September 16, 2012, 04:34:43 pm
Settings -> Environment -> Terminal to Launch Console Programs...

What is the correct parameter list here ?? When I run a program the console window pops up briefly and then closes. Only way to run program from IDE is with debugger using Shift+F7. Help appreciated.

From Settings > Environment, replace
Code
xterm -T $TITLE -e
with
Code
gnome-terminal --title=$TITLE -x
.
Title: Re: How do you use Gnome Terminal instead of Xterm ??
Post by: oBFusCATed on September 16, 2012, 05:09:25 pm
From Settings > Environment, replace
Code
xterm -T $TITLE -e
with
Code
gnome-terminal --title=$TITLE -x
.
This is outdated and won't work with a gnome-terminal spawning a single process (the one in gnome3).
For the most reliable operation the information provided by Jens is the most correct one.