Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Using Code::Blocks => Topic started by: DoMeN on December 05, 2006, 02:52:35 pm

Title: debugging - changing breakpoint type
Post by: DoMeN on December 05, 2006, 02:52:35 pm
Is ti somehow possible to set C::B to use hbreak instead of break when setting the breakpoints?

thanks

r. Domen
Title: Re: debugging - changing breakpoint type
Post by: thomas on December 07, 2006, 10:44:07 am
You can edit the sources accordingly, if you need this. Only need to insert one 'h' into a string (do a file search).

For mainstream, I think it is not acceptable for two obvious reasons, both of which are also stated in gdb's documentation:

We want Code::Blocks to be portable and generally be able to work on any platform on any kind of hardware. This neither means that we will write implementations for every hardware in existence, nor that we make any claims Code::Blocks actually works on any particular platform other than Windows/Linux/Macintosh.
However, it does mean that we are not willingly and knowingly writing code that cannot possibly work outside the few platforms that we develop for.

Also, we want Code::Blocks to be able to work with more than n breakpoints. It does not matter whether n is 2, or 8, or 16, or maybe even 256. Putting a hard limit on the number of breakpoints  calls for problems.
Title: Re: debugging - changing breakpoint type
Post by: DoMeN on December 07, 2006, 02:33:42 pm
Thanks for the explanation. I allredy changed the source accordingly. It's great to know that it wasn't redundant work  :D
r. Domen