Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Using Code::Blocks => Topic started by: fargoth on August 02, 2007, 05:55:13 pm

Title: new project wizard - GLUT - problems defining $(#glut)
Post by: fargoth on August 02, 2007, 05:55:13 pm
I've created the global variable glut with the following dirs:
base: /usr/
include: /usr/include/GL
lib: /usr/lib
obj:  (empty)

but the wizard asks me for the location of glut and i put $(#glut) - I'm told it cant locate the header files...

what am i doing wrong?
Title: Re: new project wizard - GLUT - problems defining $(#glut)
Post by: Driss on August 09, 2007, 10:36:00 pm
After you've put $(#glut), you have to do anything but #include <name_of_header_to_include.h> I supose it's glut.h  :idea:
Title: Re: new project wizard - GLUT - problems defining $(#glut)
Post by: rolandixor on August 10, 2007, 01:48:05 am
I've found that codeblocks complains about all vars. Even wxWidgets won't work... :x
Title: Re: new project wizard - GLUT - problems defining $(#glut)
Post by: Biplab on August 10, 2007, 03:45:35 am
I've found that codeblocks complains about all vars. Even wxWidgets won't work... :x

You should understand why they are complaining. These little checks are kept to inform user that the wizard can't find the required libs in a standard place.

BTW, can you explain the situation where wxWidgets won't work with C::B??

include: /usr/include/GL

Change the above variable to /usr/include
Title: Re: new project wizard - GLUT - problems defining $(#glut)
Post by: Freak on April 15, 2008, 11:58:26 am
I'm also having this problem, is this a bug or known issue....?
I can use the OpenGL and other wizards, bit i cannot get a GLUT project to create on Windows.

I'm using 8.02 on Windows.

Script Error:
"The path you entered seems valid, but this wizard can't locate the following GLUT's include file: glut.h in it."
I have tried several solutions, I have made subfolders "lib" and "include" and also put both files in the root and sub folders, and i get similar errors no matter what try. The include files are in the directories specified.

There seems to be other issues, because the first time i used the Wizard, I was led to another menu (Global Variable Editor) that had options for setting multiple directories, (Base, Include, Objects, Lib, etc) but this no longer appears when creating a new project, i just get the single "Glut Project" Please Select GLUT's Location. Which fails as per above.

Previously if i left the $(#glut) and just hit next, it would take me to the Global Variable Editor i had to delete my .conf to fix this issue, and get that option back again, but this still does not solve this main issue of not being able to create a Glut project.
Has anyone gotten this to work in the stable 8.02 release? Any solutions to fixing this?

I really only installed CodeBlocks for doing GLUT development, as i was using DevC++, so this is frustrating, any help or advice would be appreciated.

Title: Re: new project wizard - GLUT - problems defining $(#glut)
Post by: MortenMacFly on April 15, 2008, 08:42:14 pm
I can use the OpenGL and other wizards, bit i cannot get a GLUT project to create on Windows.
OpenGL ships with  the MinGW compiler suite. GLUT does not. Are you sure you installed a GLUT development package somewhere? Are you sure you really do have glut.h in the folder(s) you are pointing to?

Keep in mind: Even the MinGW bundled setup of C::B 08.02 does not ship with GLUT. This library is an additional download.
Title: Re: new project wizard - GLUT - problems defining $(#glut)
Post by: achandran on June 12, 2008, 08:33:13 am
I got the same problem with Freak and I also use CodeBlocks 8.02

I have downloaded glut-3.7.6-bin and extracted it to C:\glut-3.7.6-bin
Because the archive didn't use folder include and lib, I made folder include and lib in C:\glut-3.7.6-bin, so I have
- C:\glut-3.7.6-bin\include
- C:\glut-3.7.6-bin\lib
Then I copied glut.h to C:\glut-3.7.6-bin\include and glut32.lib to C:\glut-3.7.6-bin\lib.
I didn't delete the original file, so I have C:\glut-3.7.6-bin\glut.h and C:\glut-3.7.6-bin\include\glut.h

With that setting, when I used Wizard , CodeBlocks still couldn't found them
If I set base field of Global Variable glut to
  C:\glut-3.7.6-bin
CodeBlocks would said
  The macro you entered seems valid, but this wizard can't
  locate the include directory based on this macro. 
  This wizard cannot continue.

If I set base field of Global Variable glut to
 C:\glut-3.7.6-bin\include
CodeBlocks would said
  The macro you entered seems valid, but this wizard can't
  locate the include directory based on this macro.
  This wizard cannot continue.

Thanks for helps
Title: Re: new project wizard - GLUT - problems defining $(#glut)
Post by: jens on June 12, 2008, 09:56:24 am
Try the "GLUT for Mingw32" from here (http://mywebpage.netscape.com/PtrPck/glut.htm).

You have to put "_WCHAR_T_DEFINED" in your projects "Build options" ("#defines"-tab), or you get an error because of a redefined "wchar_t" (alternatively you can comment out the line that 45 causes the error in "glut.h").

You have to copy glut32.dll in your windows search-path, and you can build and run the wizard-example (after setting the "glut" global-variable to the new patch of course).
Title: Re: new project wizard - GLUT - problems defining $(#glut)
Post by: achandran on June 18, 2008, 06:09:46 am
Thanks, it helped a lot

Actually after i looked at "GLUT for Mingw32" zip file, i got an idea and i copied
glut.h in my previous configuration to C:\glut-3.7.6-bin\include\GL\glut.h not
C:\glut-3.7.6-bin\include\glut.h and it worked.

It seems that the template need glut.h in "include\GL" not in "include"