Author Topic: Can't compile wxWidgets app  (Read 5057 times)

Offline Frog

• Single posting newcomer
Can't compile wxWidgets app
« on: December 26, 2008, 12:16:42 pm »
Dear all!
I am just a beginner, and I have a problem with wxPack.
I am using CodeBlocks v. 8.02, minGW v. 3.81, wxPack 2.8.8.04 all installed on C:, OS - XP sp3
Then I try to compile barebone wxWidgets project from CodeBlocks wizard, or any samples from wxPack it starts and proceed without
any errors - at some point empty .exe file appears in the Debug/Release bin folder, stays there for a few seconds, then disappear, and
few seconds after that - compilation stops - no errors shown. I tried different settings for global variables, compiler and linker options,
but the result is always the same. No .exe file, and no errors. Can You, please, help me and point what's wrong ? Thank You for the attention.   

P.S. Regular Win32 apps are compiling normally, and produce .exe as they should.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2008, 12:30:37 pm by Frog »

Offline alb_cb_moon

• Multiple posting newcomer
Re: Can't compile wxWidgets app
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2008, 10:09:12 pm »
I am NOT using wxPack, but I believe that the error is the Mingw version, because wxPack's autor say in the homepage section that the package only is compiled for MinGW Gcc4.2.1.
GUI Library: wxWidgets 2.8.10
IDE: CodeBlocks SVN / Nigth Builds Compiler: MinGW & gcc 3.4.5

Offline ollydbg

• Developer
  • Lives here!
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2008, 07:13:07 am »
I'm using the SVN version of codeblocks in windows xp.
and I'm using the mingw from http://www.tdragon.net/recentgcc/
And using wxWidgets 2.8.9 library compiled myself. In another computer, I'm using wxpack. They all work OK!
See the screencast of a sample test
http://sites.google.com/site/studycodeblocks/Home/wx.swf
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).