Author Topic: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)  (Read 46166 times)

Offline Bernhard

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« on: April 25, 2008, 07:20:10 pm »
Hi,

i installed CodeBlocks Build Apr. 22 2008 on Ubuntu 7.10,because i think CodeBlocks is a nice,small IDE.
However,when i want to build and run a new console application, i always get the following error:
"Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)".
I am sure,that there is no syntax error,because i build and run the sourcecode which is generated when i create a new console application....

I am using the Gnu GCC Compiler.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Greetings from Austria

Bernhard

Offline mholt

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2008, 03:36:56 am »
Hey, this is great. I'm not the only one with this error!  8)

My thread is here: http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,8274.0.html

Except I'm using Visual C++ compiler.

Yes, if there are any developers of CodeBlocks here offering support (concept!), we'd love to know what this means. Thanks!

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2008, 08:59:42 am »
Please provide a minimal sample project and a step-by-step instruction how to reproduce. "Error 255" means nothing to me (at least) without source code.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Bernhard

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2008, 01:58:29 pm »
Hi,

i did this:

1.) i created a new project ( File -->New-->Project-->console application)
2.) in the wizard i selected C++ and Gnu GCC Compiler

Then,a new project and a source file (main.cpp) is created.
The sourcefile contains the following source code:

Code
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    cout << "Hello world!" << endl;
    return 0;
}

After pressing the F9 Button (Build and Run), i get the "Error 255".

Thanks!

Bernhard

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2008, 02:38:11 pm »
Hi Bernhard,

do you have xterm installed ?

If not you get this message when running a console project from C::B.

The easiest solution would be to run
Code
apt-get install xterm

as root or via sudo.

You can use any other terminal-emulator, but then you have to fix the instruction in the "Settings -> Environment... > Terminal to launch console programs:" textfield.

Offline Bernhard

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2008, 07:41:20 pm »
Hi Jens,

thank you very much - it worked!

Bernhard

Offline vfdff

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2009, 05:06:25 am »
thanks,I have fixed it as your idea ,too!

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2014, 12:27:01 pm »
1) this thread is 5 years old...
2) 10.05 is 4 years old. There are a lot ppas out there where you can get a never version of c::b
3) http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28general%29#Q:_How_do_I_report_a_compilation_problem_on_the_forums.3F specially the FULL BUILD LOG is important

greetings

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7590
    • My Best Post
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2014, 02:43:26 pm »
zinat: If you did a rebuild; then it means you have no source code files in the project.

Tim S.

C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7590
    • My Best Post
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2014, 06:44:18 pm »
So Sir what's the solution for it..

Add a file to your project!!!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2014, 08:50:23 pm »
No add some .c or .cpp files to you project.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7590
    • My Best Post
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2014, 07:25:02 am »
zinat: Please read the FAQ this time.
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28errors%29#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_a_compiler_problem.3F

Quote
Things to remember:

    Look at the "Build Log" NOT the "Build Message" tab
    Do a re-build instead of build in order to get a full build log.

If you think you did it right attach a zipped cbp file to your post.

HINT: Rebuild means doing "Build" -> "rebuild" instead of run!!!!

Tim S.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2014, 07:28:31 am by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7590
    • My Best Post
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2014, 08:09:34 am »
Sir i am attaching my project below..

Post the full build log.

READ THE DIRECTION I POSTED ABOVE!!!

You do realize that you need to enable two copies of CB to run to test run a CB plugin.

Tim S.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2014, 08:14:05 am by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7590
    • My Best Post
Re: Process terminated with status 255 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2014, 08:17:24 am »
I gave you all the help I can.

I suggest never posting in someone else thread!!!

You hijacked a unrelated thread.

You will likely NOT get a linux dev to help you in this thread.

I have no idea what non-windows user need to do to test a CB plugin.

I suggest reading what the people post instead of ignoring it in the future.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org