Author Topic: Embedded command line?  (Read 4964 times)

Offline DrewBoo

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 110
Embedded command line?
« on: April 01, 2008, 06:11:46 pm »
Are there any plugins to support an embedded command prompt in Code::Blocks?  (cmd.exe interpreter in Windows,  bash or similar in Unix)

Does it exist and I've just missed it?  Has anyone tried making one before?

 8)  Should I write one?

I love all the tools I have at my disposal in Code::Blocks and I've discovered that the only thing that has me frequently stepping away from the IDE is when I need to fire off a command or three in a terminal window.

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2775
Re: Embedded command line?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2008, 07:24:02 pm »
Just define what you want in the Tools menu item.
Note the use of "cmd /c" to invoke the command prompt.
You could also use "cmd /k" etc.


Offline DrewBoo

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 110
Re: Embedded command line?
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2008, 07:41:21 pm »
Just define what you want in the Tools menu item.
Note the use of "cmd /c" to invoke the command prompt.
You could also use "cmd /k" etc.

I do have a few commands programmed into the Tools menu.  It's useful as long as I know in advance what I'm going to want to type.

Perhaps what I'm looking for is more useful in Unix environments, as the Windows command prompt has not yet evolved enough to be useful to many people on a regular basis.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Embedded command line?
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2008, 07:58:03 pm »
Sometimes it's useful to start a console in the actual build-targets dir.
On linux I use "konsole" with the settings shown in the image.


[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline dmoore

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
Re: Embedded command line?
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2008, 01:51:04 am »
my ShellExtension plugin will provide some of the functionality you want (see link to project page in my sig and download the code from the svn). not so useful for interactive sessions, though (i.e. not a full blown terminal emulator)

Offline DrewBoo

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 110
Re: Embedded command line?
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2008, 02:03:31 am »
my ShellExtension plugin will provide some of the functionality you want (see link to project page in my sig and download the code from the svn). not so useful for interactive sessions, though (i.e. not a full blown terminal emulator)

Well, look at that.  I knew I couldn't have been the first to think of that.

I see it's marked as Win32 only...I haven't tried it yet, but if I was to roll multi-platform support into it, would you take it?

Offline dmoore

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
Re: Embedded command line?
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2008, 02:40:07 am »
it works with Linux too.

the code is a mess -- all patches welcome.