User forums > Using Code::Blocks

Compiler Q's

(1/2) > >>

vserghi:
I have just had a quick look at another free IDE called Pelles C (http://www.smorgasbordet.com/pellesc/index.htm), It had a couple of interesting errors that came up whilst trying to compile an existing project. Two things;

1. It told me "Missing prototype for 'printf". Being a complete newbie, I had obviously not included the correct header file. Easy to fix.

2. It managed to tell me that some variables that I had defined were not being referenced. Again easy to fix.

How did C::B (and DevCpp) compile my program with these errors present? How did my program work ok with these errors present (using just plain ol' C)? Is there an option that I can set for me to check for these type of errors? (it uses LCC as its compiler)

As an aside, it had a nice resource editorĀ  :). You can add icons, cursors, menu/table entries, version numbers, manifest info, dialogue info.

Vasilis.

tiwag:

--- Quote from: vserghi on August 04, 2005, 01:47:11 pm ---I have just had a quick look at another free IDE called Pelles C (http://www.smorgasbordet.com/pellesc/index.htm), It had a couple of interesting errors that came up whilst trying to compile an existing project. Two things;

1. It told me "Missing prototype for 'printf". Being a complete newbie, I had obviously not included the correct header file. Easy to fix.

2. It managed to tell me that some variables that I had defined were not being referenced. Again easy to fix.

How did C::B (and DevCpp) compile my program with these errors present?

--- End quote ---

different compilers behave different, that's what we have to live with -
- sometimes it's difficult to differentiate between erros and warnings...

--- Quote from: vserghi on August 04, 2005, 01:47:11 pm --- How did my program work ok with these errors present (using just plain ol' C)? Is there an option that I can set for me to check for these type of errors?

--- End quote ---