Author Topic: [Solved] Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)  (Read 9420 times)

Offline b-s-a

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
[Solved] Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« on: April 02, 2007, 01:59:20 pm »
My steps:
1. Run Code::Blocks
2. Click "Create new project"
3. Select "QT4 Project", press "Go", press "next" (check box is unset)
4. Enter Project title "qt_test" (for example), press "next"
5. In edit field I keep "$(#qt4)" and press next
6. In Appeared window "Global variable editor" I enter:
       Base: "/usr"
       include: "/usr/include/qt4"
       lib: "/usr/lib/qt4"
       obj: "/usr/bin"
7. Click "Close"
8. Click "OK" at error window "The path you entered seems valid, but this wizard can't locate the following Qt's include file: QApplication in it.".

What's next?
/usr/include/qt4 really do not contain QApplication, because it is in /usr/include/qt4/QtGui
I try set "include" as "/usr/include/qt4/QtGui" but result repeated.

P.S.: Code::Blocks SVN 3803
« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 04:32:33 pm by b-s-a »

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2007, 02:21:02 pm »
Change the following parameter.

       Base: "/usr"
       include: "/usr/include"
       lib: "/usr/lib/qt4"
       obj: "/usr/bin"

During last commit I added a line to append qt4 to include directory for Non-Windows platform but forgot to add any check. I'll change it soon.
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline b-s-a

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2007, 02:48:00 pm »
Now problem with libraries. I try both: /usr/lib and /usr/lib/qt4 but no result.

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2007, 02:52:51 pm »
I didn't touch (made no mess) that part. 8)

I'm currently in Linux. Will try to resolve this.

Edit 1:

Gotta leave lab. Will try tomorrow. I want to test it before I commit anything.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2007, 03:29:48 pm by Biplab »
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline b-s-a

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2007, 09:09:40 pm »
Currently, I receive next message when I try to create qt4 project: "The path you entered seems valid, but this wizard can't locate the following Qt's library file: QtCore4 in it. (Also tried prepending lib and appending .a and .lib)."
Code
$ ls /usr/lib/qt4/ | grep Core
libQtCore.la
libQtCore.prl
libQtCore.so
libQtCore.so.4
libQtCore.so.4.2
libQtCore.so.4.2.2
As You see there is no QtCore4.lib or libQtCore4.a files.

quad cortex

  • Guest
Re: Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2007, 02:53:59 am »
Can someone help out with this. I'd really like to start deving Qt with C::B.

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2007, 02:14:36 pm »
I've updated the Qt4 wizard and now it should work properly in Linux. I've tested it with a small test app.

Please remember the following points.
  • Please use Global variable, e.g. $(#qt4) and then specify the appropriate directories for Global Variables. Always specify the appropriate include dir and lib dir if they are in non-standard locations (e.g., /usr/include/myqt/qt4 or so)
  • Qt4 wizard creates a basic app. Advanced classes or libs are not added to the project. If you want to use them, you have to add respective settings manually.

Regards,

Biplab :)
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline b-s-a

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: [Solved] Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2007, 04:33:10 pm »
Yes! It works!
Thanks.

drake1983

  • Guest
Re: [Solved] Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2007, 10:26:14 pm »
Hi everybody, how can I get the Qt4 Wizard updated ?

Regards!!!

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: [Solved] Cannot create new QT4 project (Linux)
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2007, 08:00:58 am »
Use a latest Nightly build.
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.