Author Topic: Two very small requests  (Read 4052 times)

Offline Darragh

• Single posting newcomer
    • http://www.darraghcoy.com
Two very small requests
« on: October 07, 2006, 03:49:39 pm »
Hello everybody! I'm a second year student doing a games development course in IT-Carlow and I've just begun using the CodeBlocks IDE and I can't say how impressed I am with it. I've used many IDE's thus far: Visual Sudio, DevC++, Borland C++ Builder 6, JCreator , Borland J Builder and so forth but CodeBlocks takes the biscuit for ease of use / simplicity, speed, and for its excellent feature set and plugins. Even little things like being able to wrap up blocks of code and right click on header files and open them automatically rather than browsing manually for them make the world of difference in terms of usability and productivity. I was using DevC++ (the current beta version) up until recently as my IDE of choice, but the amount of bugs and the poor integration with the debugger have really begun to put me off it. I know its only a beta and perhaps its not entirely fair to be criticising it because of that, but still its kinda offputting when the IDE crashes every time you double click on a project file to launch it..

Anyhow I intend to get computer services in the college to install the IDE so everyone can have access to it. I just have two small things to ask for which would be nice to see in the next build:

(1) - Create a windows definition for the .cbp files and have codeblocks launch automatically when you double click on them. I know you can set up this manually and all but it would be nice if it was done automatically.
(2) - A few more pre-defined themes in the editor color options would be nice so the user can quickly switch to a color scheme of their choice.