Author Topic: New project wizard (Qt)  (Read 19093 times)

sethjackson

  • Guest
New project wizard (Qt)
« on: July 17, 2006, 07:04:18 pm »
Hello. I have created a Qt project wizard.
You will need to apply the patch file, and then copy the two *.png files to the [C::B src]\plugins\scriptedwizard\resources\qt folder.
Please try it out. I don't have Qt on my system so let me know if it doesn't work.
Other than that the only thing that needs fixed is the wizard.png file. It is the generic console *.png. :P

EDIT:

Removed files.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2006, 09:55:29 pm by sethjackson »

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5495
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2006, 07:51:38 pm »
if it works, please let us know, I will commit it then to svn.
You might always ask Morton to have a look at it, he's a project wizard wiz ;-)

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2006, 08:37:21 pm »
if it works, please let us know, I will commit it then to svn.
You might always ask Morton to have a look at it, he's a project wizard wiz ;-)

Well the script works. I just wanted a few Qt users to test it to make sure I had everything (project) set up correctly. :)
Like I said above though the wizard.png isn't right I just copied the generic console one. :P

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2006, 09:23:47 pm »
Well the script works. I just wanted a few Qt users to test it to make sure I had everything (project) set up correctly. :)
The script works, but you cannot create a QT(4) application with it. There is no "QApplication" path below "/include". I'm not sure qhat you want to verify there but this in fact will never allow to create a valid project. Could you try again, please?
As a hint: There is a MinGW installer version of QT which has a nice image in the installer -> this you could nicely use for the wizard, too. Then please adjust the path/verification process to something meaningful and we are one step further...
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2006, 09:43:42 pm »
Well the script works. I just wanted a few Qt users to test it to make sure I had everything (project) set up correctly. :)
The script works, but you cannot create a QT(4) application with it. There is no "QApplication" path below "/include". I'm not sure qhat you want to verify there but this in fact will never allow to create a valid project. Could you try again, please?
As a hint: There is a MinGW installer version of QT which has a nice image in the installer -> this you could nicely use for the wizard, too. Then please adjust the path/verification process to something meaningful and we are one step further...
With regards, Morten.

Sure thing wiz man. I Guess the script doesn't work after all. :P

EDIT:

Is Qt Windows only for MinGW?
« Last Edit: July 17, 2006, 09:48:22 pm by sethjackson »

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2006, 09:52:00 pm »
Is Qt Windows only for MinGW?
The Open Source installer variant seems to be "optimised" (speak: compiled) for/with MinGW which seem to be logic for Open source application development, though. Anyway: The commercial variant supports and integrates into Visual Studio nicely.
Anyway: I'm not a QT developer so all this may be wrong... ;-)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2006, 09:54:30 pm »
Is Qt Windows only for MinGW?
The Open Source installer variant seems to be "optimised" (speak: compiled) for/with MinGW which seem to be logic for Open source application development, though. Anyway: The commercial variant supports and integrates into Visual Studio nicely.
Anyway: I'm not a QT developer so all this may be wrong... ;-)

Ok. Thanks for the info. :) I'll upload the revised stuff soon. I'm really not sure what to validate the Qt location against though. :P Hints?

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2006, 10:14:48 pm »
I'm really not sure what to validate the Qt location against though. :P Hints?
Hmmm... if I look at you main.cpp I'd say to verify the existence of /include, /include/qt and the main header file "qapplication.h" in that folder. (Which on second thought may be what you had in mind to verify?!).
Nice would be to verify if all thoise libaries the main application will be linked against are really required (I'm thinking of e.g. libQt3Support4 here). This seems to be an aweful lot. Finally you could verify that the main library (libQtCore4 or libqtmain - I really can't tell) is available and issue a descriptive message, if not. Anyway, maybe another (QT experienced) dev could answer this better. Who is the current maintainer of the QTWorkbench plugin? ...a forum search should reveal this... hopefully... ;-)
With regards, Morten.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2006, 10:16:19 pm by MortenMacFly »
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2006, 10:21:29 pm »
I'm really not sure what to validate the Qt location against though. :P Hints?
Hmmm... if I look at you main.cpp I'd say to verify the existence of /include, /include/qt and the main header file "qapplication.h" in that folder. (Which on second thought may be what you had in mind to verify?!).
Nice would be to verify if all thoise libaries the main application will be linked against are really required (I'm thinking of e.g. libQt3Support4 here). This seems to be an aweful lot. Finally you could verify that the main library (libQtCore4 or libqtmain - I really can't tell) is available and issue a descriptive message, if not. Anyway, maybe another (QT experienced) dev could answer this better. Who is the current maintainer of the QTWorkbench plugin? ...a forum search should reveal this... hopefully... ;-)
With regards, Morten.

Yop was the maintainer I thought...

Anyways new version. Maybe it will work now. :)

Forum won't let me upload. The upload folder is full. :P

Get it here.

EDIT:

Ok I modified the script some more. :)

The project created by the script pretty much mirrors the file-based one. Could someone that uses Qt try this please?
« Last Edit: July 17, 2006, 10:47:19 pm by sethjackson »

lfm

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2006, 01:51:52 am »
thank you!
two question :
1.for windows, how to apply the patch file?
2.for QT4, no "/include/Qt/ActiveQt" ..., but have "/include/ActiveQt"
about this, please look here: http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3206.0
additional file is a qt4 project template.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: July 18, 2006, 01:54:53 am by lfm »

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2006, 03:04:27 am »
thank you!
two question :
1.for windows, how to apply the patch file?
2.for QT4, no "/include/Qt/ActiveQt" ..., but have "/include/ActiveQt"
about this, please look here: http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3206.0
additional file is a qt4 project template.

You are welcome. :)

1. Well you would need to check out the SVN sources then apply the patch. The easy way is to go to the share\CodeBlocks\templates\wizard\config.script file and add this in the RegisterWizards function:

Code
RegisterWizard(wizProject,     _T("qt"),           _T("Qt project"),            _T("GUI"));

2. Fixed. Thanks for telling me. :D

Same link as above to download. :)

For completeness here is the link.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2006, 03:07:32 am by sethjackson »

lfm

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2006, 04:55:22 am »
2. Fixed. Thanks for telling me. :D
Same link as above to download. :)
For completeness here is the link.
Sorry, I forgot say that  following dir have same problem:
"/include/Qt/Qt3Support", "/include/Qt/QtAssistant", "/include/Qt/QtCore", "/include/Qt/QtDesigner", "/include/Qt/QtGui", "/include/Qt/QtMotif", "/include/Qt/QtNetwork", "/include/Qt/QtNsPlugin", "/include/Qt/QtOpenGL", "/include/Qt/QtSql", "/include/Qt/QtXml"

And ,please add library: libQtSvg4.a, libQtTest4.a, libQtUiTools.a

lfm

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2006, 06:44:52 am »
There is a console window when run Qt GUI project, I find all GUI project created from script wizard also have this  problem.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2006, 07:19:07 am »
There is a console window when run Qt GUI project, I find all GUI project created from script wizard also have this  problem.
This is not a problem but by design. If you run the "Debug" target it will open a console for you. The "Release" target won't. Now why is this? Because for debugging usually a lot debug messages go to the  console. You wouldn't see them if you wouln't run the application from within a consoe. Thus if you don't like the console just run the "Release" target otherwise you'd better stick with the console - it's helpful! ;-)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2006, 02:36:22 pm »
2. Fixed. Thanks for telling me. :D
Same link as above to download. :)
For completeness here is the link.
Sorry, I forgot say that  following dir have same problem:
"/include/Qt/Qt3Support", "/include/Qt/QtAssistant", "/include/Qt/QtCore", "/include/Qt/QtDesigner", "/include/Qt/QtGui", "/include/Qt/QtMotif", "/include/Qt/QtNetwork", "/include/Qt/QtNsPlugin", "/include/Qt/QtOpenGL", "/include/Qt/QtSql", "/include/Qt/QtXml"

And ,please add library: libQtSvg4.a, libQtTest4.a, libQtUiTools.a

Done. :)

Get it at the same place as before. :)

For completeness here is the link.

EDIT:

Morton why does the wizard keep adding Makefile.am to the project (I think it just copies everything from the /files folder no)? How do I fix that?
« Last Edit: July 18, 2006, 02:53:29 pm by sethjackson »

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2006, 03:25:27 pm »
Morton why does the wizard keep adding Makefile.am to the project (I think it just copies everything from the /files folder no)? How do I fix that?
I guess you are operating on the development version of C::B (inside the "devel" directory). If you run update.bat after the compilation within the "output" directory you'll get a version that has all those Makefile.am removed. This is in fact the "release" version which will then work as expected: It doesn't copy Makefile.am.

With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #16 on: July 18, 2006, 03:31:29 pm »
Morton why does the wizard keep adding Makefile.am to the project (I think it just copies everything from the /files folder no)? How do I fix that?
I guess you are operating on the development version of C::B (inside the "devel" directory). If you run update.bat after the compilation within the "output" directory you'll get a version that has all those Makefile.am removed. This is in fact the "release" version which will then work as expected: It doesn't copy Makefile.am.

With regards, Morten.

Oh ok cool. Thanks for the answer. :)

Offline yop

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #17 on: July 18, 2006, 08:26:36 pm »
I don't see any problems (it's much better that the last template used). The problem with Qt's meta compiler automagic still remains. With the QtWorkbench it won't work (not the wizard's problem but the plugin's since it was written before the wizard) but I have no time to make it work for now (on my vacations that start this week after a few really stressing months at work, I 'll prefer visiting some islands ;)).
Life would be so much easier if we could just look at the source code.

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2006, 02:07:12 am »
I don't see any problems (it's much better that the last template used). The problem with Qt's meta compiler automagic still remains. With the QtWorkbench it won't work (not the wizard's problem but the plugin's since it was written before the wizard) but I have no time to make it work for now (on my vacations that start this week after a few really stressing months at work, I 'll prefer visiting some islands ;)).

Ok cool. :) lfm does it work for you now?

lfm

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2006, 02:41:09 am »
Ok cool. :) lfm does it work for you now?
Now not found any problem!   :D

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #20 on: July 19, 2006, 02:47:47 am »
Ok cool. :) lfm does it work for you now?
Now not found any problem!   :D

Great. :D


Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #21 on: July 19, 2006, 09:49:46 am »
Ok cool. :) lfm does it work for you now?
It worked for me, too. I also like the new wizard's image!!!
Thus I've committed this to SVN after the following modifications:
- renamed to qt4 (because it isn't compatible with qt3 and in fact uses qt4 libs)
- using new verification scheme (using new global functions)
- removed unneccesary inlcude directories and libraries that were linked against to keep the project minimalistic

Thanks for help! Could you try to update from SVN and run it - if it works in this version too?

With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

lfm

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #22 on: July 19, 2006, 10:21:51 am »
- removed unneccesary inlcude directories and libraries that were linked against to keep the project minimalistic
Thanks for help! Could you try to update from SVN and run it - if it works in this version too?
works fine.
But I think that ought to add all inlcude directories and libraries, because add them manual is really troublesome, and this isn't increase the outfile's size.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #23 on: July 19, 2006, 10:36:20 am »
But I think that ought to add all inlcude directories and libraries, because add them manual is really troublesome, and this isn't increase the outfile's size.
Yes, but it also gives a false impression to users that all this is required and the dependencies are not getting clear. I think we can assume that if a user adds another functionality and receives a "Whatever.h include file not found" error he'll know what to do. In addition I searched through the Qt examples and they also not always include all directories and libs but only the required ones... so I thought it's better this way...?!
Are there other Qt devs arguing against this? All of them? ;-)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

sethjackson

  • Guest
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #24 on: July 19, 2006, 01:45:58 pm »
Ok cool. :) lfm does it work for you now?
It worked for me, too. I also like the new wizard's image!!!
Thus I've committed this to SVN after the following modifications:
- renamed to qt4 (because it isn't compatible with qt3 and in fact uses qt4 libs)
- using new verification scheme (using new global functions)
- removed unneccesary inlcude directories and libraries that were linked against to keep the project minimalistic

Thanks for help! Could you try to update from SVN and run it - if it works in this version too?

With regards, Morten.

I will try it out soon. Thanks for comitting. :)

Offline yop

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #25 on: July 20, 2006, 10:45:43 pm »
Are there other Qt devs arguing against this? All of them? ;-)
The main "problem" with Qt is that the Trolltech guys provide the qmake tool that handles all these include directories and stuff so they think that noone is going to add the dirs manually. Setting up a Qt project manually is a punishement... Bottom line adding all the possible dirs would be of great help to anyone who tries to set up a Qt project manually. The main problem is that with every new version they 'll add new ones.
Life would be so much easier if we could just look at the source code.

Offline iw2nhl

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 116
  • BASIC, C, C++, Qt, bash
Re: New project wizard (Qt)
« Reply #26 on: July 21, 2006, 12:09:11 am »
Hi,
there is a similar project: VisualStudio plug-in for Qt4 (the commercial closed-source version has it included, while it is not available in the GPL version).
This project tries to make a GPL plugin like the one (non GPL) bundled with the commercial version.
You could take some ideas from it or, even more, work together with that developers!

Download:
https://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=49109&package_id=165202
SourceForge project (Q../Free):
https://sourceforge.net/projects/qtwin/
Home Page of Q../Free:
http://qtwin.sourceforge.net/