Author Topic: My experience after more than 10 years of using CB  (Read 7497 times)

Offline RadicalInquisition

• Multiple posting newcomer
My experience after more than 10 years of using CB
« on: December 03, 2023, 11:10:36 am »
Basic level logic suggests that if I have been using code blocks for over 10 years, then this has got to be my favorite IDE. However, this is not the case sadly.
In fact, it is one of my least favorite programs that I still use.
Sure, for the most part, it gets the job done, but the moment I start questioning what I like about it I realize that the habit plays the biggest role as to why I am still using it.

Disclaimer: This is not a hate or rage post. However, keep in mind that this is intended as raw constructive criticism. Moreover, I will not be trying too much to decorate my wording so that it "sounds nice" and doesn't accidentally hurt someone's feelings. Also, I apologize for my lack of proficiency in English - this isn't my native language.

Why do I post now?
The reason I decided to post after so many years is simply because I generally do not like doing it. I don't believe there will be any positive effect whatsoever, and I don't have the nerve to engage in pointless arguments. I decided to post now after I read a particular thread, where the development team responded quite unprofessionally. Someone was hate-posting basically, listing potential issues with the program in a not-so-polite and constructive manner. He did raise several good points, but for the rest of his rant, I couldn't particularly share his sentiment.
On the other hand, as the usual response goes: "This has never happened to me".
As a business owner, a desktop software creator, and a senior user I can guarantee you that this is a substantially harmful mindset.
On top of that, it prevents the software from evolving at an optimal pace.