Author Topic: A debugging check in this application has failed  (Read 6186 times)

Offline mariusm

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 46
A debugging check in this application has failed
« on: May 16, 2023, 09:15:19 am »
I get a lot this error: "A debugging check in this application has failed"

Is annoying, more, after this, the editor lost the configuration.

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1560
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2023, 11:41:14 am »
What application fails, C::B or any of your applications?

The dialog shows information about what check failed, if the problem is in C::B please attach that information and steps to reproduce.

Offline mariusm

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2023, 01:15:20 pm »
CodeBlocks 20.03

Are a lot of, one example: include/wx/font.h(282)

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1560
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2023, 01:23:17 pm »
You are omitting the error text (for example "numWeight > 0"); The line number is meaningless because it changes with every wxWidgets release.

There was a bug in wxWidgets 3.0 related to non-integer font sizes, try a recent nightly or edit the font properties.

Offline mariusm

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2023, 01:31:36 pm »
All the versions have problems... "The program can't start libgcc_s_seh-1.dkk is missing" - last x64 nightly build

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1560
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2023, 01:48:51 pm »
Did you download the required libraries (every nightly consists of three ZIP files that must be expanded in the same folder)?

Please read twice and understand the instructions about using nightlies and my messages before continuing. You still have not posted the exact assert message.

Offline mariusm

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2023, 04:36:24 pm »
https://sourceforge.net/projects/codeblocks/files/Binaries/Nightlies/2023/ there are 7z not zip with only one archive.

No time to test again , now I use 2017 version, do not have this error but have others...
« Last Edit: May 16, 2023, 04:38:13 pm by mariusm »

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1560
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2023, 05:11:26 pm »
*PLONK*

Offline mariusm

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2023, 05:26:34 pm »
OK, *PLONK* solve the problem... nice  ::)

Offline mariusm

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2023, 12:00:38 pm »
I managed to install the latest nightly version, from N archives, is so difficult to put everything in one ...

The result is as I expected, this error do not appear anymore but others appear, a program rich in errors heheheee ...

Now Code Completion do not find functions from another class, on the 17th version worked, now the programmer forgot how to do it...  :o ::) ???

Offline alderson2

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • geometry dash bloodbath
Re: A debugging check in this application has failed
« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2023, 01:26:02 pm »
I managed to install the latest nightly version, from N archives, is so difficult to put everything in one ...

The result is as I expected, this error do not appear anymore but others appear, a program rich in errors heheheee ...

Now Code Completion do not find functions from another class, on the 17th version worked, now the programmer forgot how to do it...  :o ::) ???

Check if you have set appropriate breakpoints in your code. Breakpoints allow you to pause the execution of your program at specific lines, helping you analyze the state of variables and step through code. Make sure you have set breakpoints at relevant points in your code to effectively debug.