Author Topic: Codeblocks doesn't work!  (Read 2451 times)

Offline Grit Clef

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • Where there is a will, there is a way.
Codeblocks doesn't work!
« on: January 18, 2023, 10:22:20 am »
Hi,
        Some months ago I installed the Codeblocks on a machine running Windows8.1. It could run well. Later I re-installed it on a Windows7 system. But now it failed to start up wih exit status 0xc0000005. The debugger said it had caused an "Access violation" exception.
        What can I do to solve this problem? Any ideas?
Yours,
Grit Clef
-Windows 7, 32-bit
-CodeBlocks r13490, gcc 13.2.0, debug version

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
Re: Codeblocks doesn't work!
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2023, 11:23:06 am »
Which version did you install and how?
Can you try a nightly build?

Offline Grit Clef

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • Where there is a will, there is a way.
Re:Gemenez
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2023, 11:38:17 am »
20.03. The newest version of nightlies can only run under 64-bit Windows systems.But my computer is 32-bit.
-Windows 7, 32-bit
-CodeBlocks r13490, gcc 13.2.0, debug version

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
Re: Codeblocks doesn't work!
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2023, 11:53:05 am »
Open a console, go to the folder containing cvodeblocks.exe and run
Code
codeblocks --safe-mode
This will disable plugins temporarily.
If there is a codeblocks.RPT file in the same folder attach it here (you may have to rename or zip it).

Offline pacemaker

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Codeblocks doesn't work!
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2023, 06:27:56 pm »
Hi, I have the same problem ! I installed code::blocks on a windows 11 lapptop. When I started programming I had not yet created a project. Everything was okay, I could compile and run the program. Then I created a Console application using the program and since then I get this message   process returnd -1073741819 (0xC0000005). The run stops at different lines and my ofile is not complete.

Offline Grit Clef

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • Where there is a will, there is a way.
Re: Codeblocks doesn't work!
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2023, 02:09:16 am »
I tried the safe mode, but it still failed with 0xc0000005. And there's no RPT file.
-Windows 7, 32-bit
-CodeBlocks r13490, gcc 13.2.0, debug version

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: Codeblocks doesn't work!
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2023, 02:24:16 am »
I tried the safe mode, but it still failed with 0xc0000005. And there's no RPT file.

Try replacing these files in the CB installation.
https://github.com/stahta01/CodeBlocks_Unofficial_Testing/tree/master/src/exchndl/Win_7/win32/bin

The was a weird problem where these DLLs was the cause I can not remember when it was.

Tim S.
 
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: Codeblocks doesn't work!
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2023, 03:06:12 am »
Hi, I have the same problem ! I installed code::blocks on a windows 11 lapptop. When I started programming I had not yet created a project. Everything was okay, I could compile and run the program. Then I created a Console application using the program and since then I get this message   process returnd -1073741819 (0xC0000005). The run stops at different lines and my ofile is not complete.

Your problem is not the OP problem.

You need to find a programming website and post your broken code on the website and report the error.

Edit: If you think it is a Code::Blocks issue instead of a bad code issue, please start a new thread on it and give details!

Tim S.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2023, 03:07:52 am by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Grit Clef

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • Where there is a will, there is a way.
Re: stahta01
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2023, 05:25:58 am »
I put your DLL files in my Codeblocks path. But it still. However, when I deleted the file "dbghelp.dll", the problem has been solved. I don't know why!
« Last Edit: January 19, 2023, 06:03:29 am by Grit Clef »
-Windows 7, 32-bit
-CodeBlocks r13490, gcc 13.2.0, debug version

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Codeblocks doesn't work!
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2023, 09:31:51 am »
I see someone is supply the 32bit Windows nightly build version, see here:

Re: The 22 October 2022 build (12990) is out.

I don't see the 32bit Windows nightly build version in the latest version, see here:

The 10 December 2022 build (13107) is out.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Grit Clef

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • Where there is a will, there is a way.
Re: Codeblocks doesn't work!
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2023, 10:05:30 am »
I see someone is supply the 32bit Windows nightly build version, see here:

Re: The 22 October 2022 build (12990) is out.

I don't see the 32bit Windows nightly build version in the latest version, see here:

The 10 December 2022 build (13107) is out.
I can't connect to Google Drive in the place where I am living in. But thank you too, I had already solved this problem(although it's not the best method).
-Windows 7, 32-bit
-CodeBlocks r13490, gcc 13.2.0, debug version