Developer forums (C::B DEVELOPMENT STRICTLY!) > Development

Compiling SO Files Embedded In The Executable

(1/2) > >>

EverydayDiesel:
Hello,

I have a server that I dont have sudo on but I need to run a C++ application that I wrote with code blocks.

At the moment I am getting these errors

--- Code: ---./test: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.29' not found (required by ./test)
./test: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6: version `CXXABI_1.3.13' not found (required by ./test)
./test: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.34' not found (required by ./test)
./test: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.32' not found (required by ./test)

--- End code ---

Is there a way to make my executable bigger and have them embedded?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give

BlueHazzard:
I am no expert in this, but I think your problem is that you have compiled your program with a incompatible glibc version as that is running on your server

as far as i know you have two options to resolve your issue:
1) Use on the compiling pc the exact same version of gcc as available on the server ( to simplyfy you can use some vm like virtual box or some docker container) <- simple and fast
2) Embedd libc in your application, for this you have to compile it versus something like uClibc or musl (https://uclibc-ng.org/ http://musl.libc.org/ ) <- more compliucated and i do not know if this works with c++

BlueHazzard:
3) if your server supports flatpack you probably can also use flatpack https://docs.flatpak.org/en/latest/single-file-bundles.html

EverydayDiesel:
Hello and thank you for the reply. 

// dev machine

--- Code: ---g++ -v
Using built-in specs.
COLLECT_GCC=/usr/bin/g++
COLLECT_LTO_WRAPPER=/usr/libexec/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/12/lto-wrapper
OFFLOAD_TARGET_NAMES=nvptx-none
OFFLOAD_TARGET_DEFAULT=1
Target: x86_64-redhat-linux