Author Topic: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?  (Read 1634 times)

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
when i compile and i get an error, we get the error line... seems normal... but when i double click, with mouse button, nothing happens.
why isn't going to the error\warning line?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7267
    • My Best Post
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2022, 07:00:37 pm »
Are you using an custom makefile CB project?
If yes, it is a known issues.

If no, it should work.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2022, 07:25:10 pm »
"Are you using an custom makefile CB project?"
honestly what is 'an custom makefile CB project'?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7267
    • My Best Post
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2022, 07:26:58 pm »
Did you create a CB project?
If so, how did you create it?
If you used cmake then you likely have an custom makefile CB project.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2022, 07:31:52 pm »
just for test, i created an empty project with CPP file.
the olders projects have the same problem :(
but, before reinstall the windows, the problem wasn't there :(

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7267
    • My Best Post
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2022, 07:35:36 pm »
The problem will not be fixed by reinstalling windows!
The problem is likely caused by something; but, you need to post information for someone to help you.

CB Version?
Windows Version?

Win11 has not been out long enough to find all the CB related issues. This might be one.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2022, 07:41:31 pm »
honestly i don't know what i did for get these problem!!!
i use Windows 10, code blocks 20.03.
what you need more?

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2022, 07:53:53 pm »
when i do Ctrl+G the line window is showed... i add the line, but nothing happens :(
something is wrong between the Logs&Others - Build Messages and the editor window

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7267
    • My Best Post
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2022, 08:04:27 pm »
when i do Ctrl+G the line window is showed... i add the line, but nothing happens :(
something is wrong between the Logs&Others - Build Messages and the editor window

I think you are going to have to wait a few days and hope someone have something to suggest.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2022, 08:10:53 pm »
i tryied reinstall the codeblock, but the problem remains :(

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3169
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2022, 12:09:23 am »
Be sure you are in the "Build message" tab and not the build log tab

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2022, 09:06:13 am »
Is there a non-ASCII character in the project path?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7267
    • My Best Post
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2022, 01:15:55 pm »
Is there a non-ASCII character in the project path?

Or a space?

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2022, 09:51:12 pm »
https://imgur.com/BGLmR4S
if i double click on message error, nothing happens... the text cursor don't go to the error line :(
like you see on image, i'm on  'Build Messages'

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2022, 09:54:42 pm »
maybe i disable something and i don't know what

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3169
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2022, 11:30:26 pm »
There should be no setting to modify this.
You have not answered the other questions....

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7267
    • My Best Post
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2022, 02:45:21 am »
The image he posted had an code completion box up; could the box need to be closed before the build message click works?

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2393
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2022, 06:32:48 am »
The image he posted had an code completion box up; could the box need to be closed before the build message click works?

Tim S.


I believe, Yes, it needs to be closed because the popup owns the focus.
That means (with an open popup window)  CompilerMessages::OnDoubleClick(wxCommandEvent& event) will never see the mouse double click.

@cambalinho, close the codeCompletion popup window and see if the doubleClick works.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2022, 05:58:14 pm by Pecan »

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2022, 07:04:13 pm »
not working :(
https://imgur.com/iz35hsZ

 BlueHazzard: "There should be no setting to modify this.
You have not answered the other questions...."
did i miss some questions? i said that i use Windows 10 20H2... and CodeBlocks is 20.03.
when i uninstall the CodeBlocks, some options files aren't deleted? after reinstall, several times, the CodeBlocks, the problem remains :(

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2393
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2022, 08:54:14 pm »
not working :(
https://imgur.com/iz35hsZ

 BlueHazzard: "There should be no setting to modify this.
You have not answered the other questions...."
did i miss some questions? i said that i use Windows 10 20H2... and CodeBlocks is 20.03.
when i uninstall the CodeBlocks, some options files aren't deleted? after reinstall, several times, the CodeBlocks, the problem remains :(

To remove all config data, after uninstalling CB, delete the folder at C:\Users\<YourUserName>\AppData\Roaming\CodeBlocks
Then re-install CB.

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2022, 09:43:22 pm »
why all config data, registry or\and others aren't deleted on uninstall?
or, at least, a reset button\option for help more
doing these will help the user
i uninstall it and delete that folder, but no success :(

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7267
    • My Best Post
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2022, 10:40:49 pm »
Please post a full re-build log so we can find out what your build path is?
Edit: Add link to directions: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28general%29#Q:_How_do_I_report_a_compilation_problem_on_the_forums.3F

You have yet to tell us if it has spaces or special chars in it.

Tim S.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2022, 10:45:50 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2022, 10:55:43 pm »
so i did an empty project for share:
Code
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    cout << "hello world" // error no ';'
    return 0;
}
on 'Logs & others' Window:
'Build Log' tab:
Quote
-------------- Clean: Debug in testefg (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler)---------------

Cleaned "testefg - Debug"

-------------- Build: Debug in testefg (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler)---------------

g++.exe -Wall -g  -c "C:\Users\Camba\Documents\Documentos de Programacao, Matematica e Fisica\CodeBlocks\testefg\Untitled1.cpp" -o obj\Debug\Untitled1.o
g++.exe  -o bin\Debug\testefg.exe obj\Debug\Untitled1.o   
C:\Users\Camba\Documents\Documentos de Programacao, Matematica e Fisica\CodeBlocks\testefg\Untitled1.cpp: In function 'int main()':
C:\Users\Camba\Documents\Documentos de Programacao, Matematica e Fisica\CodeBlocks\testefg\Untitled1.cpp:7:26: error: expected ';' before 'return'
     cout << "hello world"
                          ^
                          ;
     return 0;
     ~~~~~~               
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))
1 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))
 

on 'Build Messages' tab:
Quote
||=== Build: Debug in testefg (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
 Matematica e Fisica\CodeBlocks\testefg\Untitled1.cpp||In function 'int main()':|
 Matematica e Fisica\CodeBlocks\testefg\Untitled1.cpp|7|error: expected ';' before 'return'|
||=== Build failed: 1 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 0 second(s)) ===|
i just write normal and no copy paste.... no special chars in it.

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2022, 11:02:59 pm »
i'm sorry, when you said 'has spaces or special chars in it.' do you mean folder name or something?

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #24 on: May 10, 2022, 11:07:13 pm »
tested!!!!
the problem is:
- we can't use spaces on special characters on folders names... and maybe on project files names too.
thank you so much for to all... thank
maybe, in future, the problem can be fixed ;)
new project on a different folder name:
Quote
||=== Build: Debug in testefg (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
C:\Users\Camba\Documents\teste\Untitled2.cpp||In function 'int main()':|
C:\Users\Camba\Documents\teste\Untitled2.cpp|7|error: expected ';' before '}' token|
||=== Build failed: 1 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 0 second(s)) ===|

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #25 on: May 11, 2022, 09:50:12 am »
I have just created a ticket.

EDIT: I Have checked current trunk (r12806) with spaces and accented characters in the path, and it works as it should, so I have closed the ticket.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2022, 11:37:20 am by Miguel Gimenez »

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #26 on: May 11, 2022, 09:09:29 pm »
is there another codeblocks version?
(i copy the my codeblocks projects folder(for test) to the previous folder and isn't working)

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #27 on: May 11, 2022, 09:33:39 pm »
There are no more releases ATM, but there are nightlies (beta versions) that you can use just like a portable application.

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #28 on: May 11, 2022, 09:46:16 pm »
i can't teste it, because it's missing some files:
- libgcc_s_seh-1.dll and other dependency dll files. i can go to Codeblocks folder and teste it.... but thanks for all
thank you.

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3169
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #29 on: May 11, 2022, 10:30:07 pm »
i can't teste it, because it's missing some files:
- libgcc_s_seh-1.dll and other dependency dll files. i can go to Codeblocks folder and teste it.... but thanks for all
thank you.
You have to read the instructions:
Quote
A link to the unicode windows wxWidget dll(s) for Code::Blocks : https://sourceforge.net/projects/codeblocks/files/Binaries/Nightlies/Prerequisites/wxmsw31u_gcc_cb_wx315_2D_gcc810-mingw64.7z
A link to Mingw64 dll's needed by Code::Blocks : http://sourceforge.net/projects/codeblocks/files/Binaries/Nightlies/Prerequisites/Mingw64dlls8.1.0.7z

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #30 on: May 11, 2022, 11:18:40 pm »
tested. but when i use a folder name with spaces or special characters, the problem  remains :(

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3169
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #31 on: May 12, 2022, 10:55:27 am »
In the "Build messages" tab, where you double click, are there the correct line number and file name?

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #32 on: May 12, 2022, 09:00:19 pm »
BlueHazzard: Yes. the problem was, again, using a folder names with spaces or special characters.
using a normal folder name( no spaces or special characters), the double click works fine.

Miguel Gimenez did an update for, maybe, next CodeBlocks version.

Miguel Gimenez: correct me a different question: if we use the CodeBlocks last version, the link(when we execute the CodeBlocks, the 'Start here' tab) don't go to download page?(or do nothing)

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #33 on: May 12, 2022, 10:07:45 pm »
If you are asking about the top link (under the logo), clicking on it just copies the link text to the clipboard. This IMHO is counter intuitive.

Offline cambalinho

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: IDE error: why double click, on error list, don't go to the line?
« Reply #34 on: May 12, 2022, 11:02:33 pm »
thanks for correct me...
thanks for all to all