Author Topic: 20.3 Slow to launch on SSD Laptop  (Read 13156 times)

Offline cpcfreak

• Multiple posting newcomer
20.3 Slow to launch on SSD Laptop
« on: July 05, 2021, 03:39:46 am »
I have an interesting problem on one Win 10 laptop, for some reason 20.3 has suddenly become very slow to launch.

I've tried a reinstall / clean install, I've removed the default project folders, nothing I do seems to make a difference. It appears to me that the program is very slow at parsing the lexers during launch. I have quite a fast laptop with 1TB SSD, and launch is now taking almost 60 to 80s. On my desktop with a similar processor and a 2TB HDD launch happens in about 10 to 15s. The laptop was previously just as fast if not faster than the desktop, but for some unknown reason it has now slowed. I have not noticed any slow down in other software.

I'm new to Code::Blocks so any suggestions for a first diagnostic step will be greatly appreciated?

Offline Pecan

• Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
Re: 20.3 Slow to launch on SSD Laptop
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2021, 07:24:22 am »
Your virus checker may be latching on it to check for viruses before allowing it to run. This happened to me.

Try excluding the .exe or CB folder from the virus checker. See if that helps.

Offline cpcfreak

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2021, 09:13:45 am »
Hi Pecan,

Thanks for the response, I've tried excluding the folders from real-time protection and even tried removing the anti-virus, but it's had little if any impact, the problem is truly bizarre.

Online Commaster

• Almost regular
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2021, 10:38:05 am »
In this case I'd keep the "Task Manager" open on the "Details" tab, sorted descending by "CPU".
Additionally, keep the "Resource Monitor" open on the "Disk" tab, "Disk Activity" subgroup, sorted descending by "Total (B/sec)".

Just a wild guess, most likely wrong: RAM is full so you are bullying your SWAP.

Offline cpcfreak

« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2021, 03:28:55 am »