Author Topic: CB trunk wxCHECK_RET failures with allot of the sdk resources  (Read 8018 times)

Offline AndrewCot

• Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
Let me start with I have no experience with wxSmith.

I am trying to add new compiler settings files for MSYS2 and other compilers to make it easier for Windows user to use CB. I have added two sets of new compiler & options files that show up in the initial CB startup "Compilers auto-detection" dialog successfully along with all of the other huge number compilers that I do not have. As the list is huge I was thinking I would see about adding a checkbox to show all the compiler or only the detected so to make the compiler list more useful.

But I get an wxCHECK_RET failure in the wxWidget src\common\wincmn.cpp file on line 2490 when loading the auto_detect_compiler.xrc. Continue works. The wxWidget function that the assert is in is:
Code
void wxWindowBase::SetContainingSizer(wxSizer* sizer)
{
    // Adding a window to another sizer if it's already managed by one would
    // result in crashes later because one of the two sizers won't be notified
    // about the window destruction and so will use a dangling pointer when it
    // is destroyed itself. As such problems are hard to debug, don't allow
    // them to happen in the first place.
    if ( sizer )
    {
        // This would be caught by the check below too, but give a more clear
        // error message in this case.
        wxASSERT_MSG( m_containingSizer != sizer,
                      wxS("Adding a window to the same sizer twice?") );

wxCHECK_RET( !m_containingSizer,
                     wxS("Adding a window already in a sizer, detach it first!") );
    }

m_containingSizer = sizer;
}

The wxWidget SetContainingSizer() function code was last changed 6 years ago.
The auto_detect_compiler.xrc file was also last changed 6 years ago.