User forums > Help

mingw missing libs

(1/2) > >>

Denis Mungle:
This problem keeps happening where i have the path of the variables correctly placed in the compiler settings but i cant seem to find the   -ldwmapi anywhere (this is the message):

gcc.exe  -o bin\Debug\GTK_Demo.exe obj\Debug\main.o  -LC:/msys64/mingw64/bin/../lib -lgtk-3 -lgdk-3 -lz -lgdi32 -limm32 -lshell32 -lole32 -Wl,-luuid -lwinmm -ldwmapi -lsetupapi -lcfgmgr32 -lpangowin32-1.0 -lpangocairo-1.0 -lpango-1.0 -lharfbuzz -latk-1.0 -lcairo-gobject -lcairo -lgdk_pixbuf-2.0 -lgio-2.0 -lgobject-2.0 -lglib-2.0 -lintl   
c:/mingw/bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/9.2.0/../../../../mingw32/bin/ld.exe: cannot find -ldwmapi
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status

I'm kinda new to this ide and how to use it properly any ideas? The C:/msys64/mingw64/bin/../lib path as the -ldwmapi libs on it.
I have applied `pkg-config --cflags gtk+-3.0` to other compiler options and in the linker `pkg-config --libs gtk+-3.0`

AndrewCot:
This issue is not with CB, but with the packages you are trying to build. I suggest google "libdwmapi.a" and have a read as this has occurred before and hopefully some of the results have a solution for you. Some of the results are old, so be aware of this.

This page could be the one to start with:
https://packages.msys2.org/package/msys2-w32api-runtime?repo=msys&variant=x86_64

stahta01:
Is dwmapi an DLL or a static library?

If static library, I have always used a full path to the library because I have never gotten -llibname to work with an static MSys2 library.

Edit: It appears to be a windows system DLL and not an MSys2 DLL, I have not had this problem. So, my solution may or may not work with an import library to an system DLL.

Edit2: If you attach your CB project and the c/c++ source files with the header files (as a single zip or 7z file),  I can try to build it. I have MSys2 installed.

Tim S.

stahta01:
Could not duplicate problem on my computer.