Author Topic: Is there a problem on forums?  (Read 1811 times)

Online Commaster

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 109
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2021, 04:52:29 pm »
This could very well be the reason, I also don't have an IPv6 address... Hmmm!

Online New Pagodi

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2021, 06:11:12 pm »
ipv6 does seem to be the problem.  Based on this post, in firefox's about:config page, I created the new field

Code
network.dns.ipv4OnlyDomains
and set its value to

Code
forums.codeblocks.org
and I can browse the forum again.

« Last Edit: April 01, 2021, 06:13:30 pm by New Pagodi »

Offline gd_on

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 633
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2021, 07:56:31 pm »
Cool for firefox. Do you know how to do the same configuration in other browsers : chrome, Edge, ... Of course, in Ethernet configuration, but it switch off all ipv6, so less elegant !

Also, an other problem, but on the wiki this time. I  can navigate it, but I can't connect to the wiki (in case I want to modify/add something) : top button "Anonymous" does not do anything. Did I forget something (how to connect) or is it a migration problem ?
« Last Edit: April 01, 2021, 07:59:13 pm by gd_on »
Windows 10 64 bits (20H2), svn C::B (last version or almost!), wxWidgets 3.1.5, Msys2 Compilers 10.3.0, 64 bits (seh, posix : gcc, g++ and gfortran in C:\msys64\mingw64) or 32 bits (sjlj, posix in C:\msys64\mingw32).

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 690
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2021, 08:48:39 pm »
From the news, https://www.codeblocks.org/post/infrastructure-migration/:

Quote
During the migration, the forums will be in maintenance mode (no new posts) and the wiki will be in read-only mode.

Looks like it is still in read only mode.

Offline MaxGaspa

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #19 on: April 01, 2021, 09:17:57 pm »
In the last few weeks I had a lot of with the CB   forum using Win7 and Firefox (latest) but no issues using Win10 and Edge (latest). I fix my issues on Win7 using the instruction in

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/firefox-cant-load-websites-other-browsers-can#w_ipv6

I set in about:config

network.dns.disableIPv6


to

true

and now everything is working fine.

Hope this helps

Online Commaster

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 109
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #20 on: April 02, 2021, 05:39:38 am »
I suspect the server code is asking Cloudflare for the origin IPv4 and getting an empty result back when the connection is purely IPv6, which leads to the database error when the server is trying to track active users/guests. (I had this issue in a different project using Cloudflare, we had to ignore IPv6 users in the end...)

Online Commaster

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 109
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2021, 05:32:14 pm »
"Forum stats" panel really doesn't like quotes:
Code
Latest Post: "Re: Error "quotThe project ..."
there's an extra "quot" word.
The original post name is
Code
Re: Error "The project file does not exist ..." when trying to open multiple project

Offline sodev

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 427
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #22 on: April 15, 2021, 04:50:56 pm »
After running this for some time now, i can confirm that i am still affected by that Database Error problem. Basically i can open a few threads, then i am greeted with the message:

Code
Database Error
Please try again. If you come back to this error screen, report the error to an administrator.

Using the above mentioned method to enforce the usage of IPv4 for forums.codeblocks.org solves the issue for me on the Desktop. However, i cannot change this setting on my mobile browser so i am still locked out on my mobile phone. This is the only website i experience this problem so im pretty sure this is a problem on your side. What i do not understand is why aren't there more reports about this? IPv6 connections should be pretty common these days, there should be more people affected?

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 690
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #23 on: April 15, 2021, 07:02:46 pm »
At least now the IP shown when posting is correct.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5339
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2021, 05:15:11 am »
I enable this option in my Firefox, but I still see this error.

I never see this error before, it only starts from tomorrow.

Sometimes, I can only reply, and some times I can't. I can't start a new thread in the "Help" user forums. Not sure why.

EDIT: for me, I see "network.dns.disableIPv6" is not the cause of the database error, it is some url text pattern error, see my next post.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2021, 05:40:26 am by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5339
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2021, 05:33:34 am »
I found a very strange issue, if my post contains such string, then, I will get the database error:

see the image shot below:

So, it means some special web link text pattern will cause the database error.  :(
« Last Edit: April 17, 2021, 05:38:38 am by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Miguel Gimenez

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 690
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2021, 11:26:00 am »
The problem may be with the square brackets or the strange character – , checking the modified link:

Bug 49951 <4.5/4.6/4.7 Regression> Debug stepping behavior regarding g++ Class destructor has changed for the worse starting at gcc 4.5.0

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5339
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Is there a problem on forums?
« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2021, 12:20:15 pm »
The problem may be with the square brackets or the strange character – , checking the modified link:

Bug 49951 <4.5/4.6/4.7 Regression> Debug stepping behavior regarding g++ Class destructor has changed for the worse starting at gcc 4.5.0

Good catch!
I can confirm this is the true problem of my "database error" issue.
Thanks.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.