Author Topic: Can't use debugging tool  (Read 7223 times)

ien

Can't use debugging tool
« on: February 14, 2006, 08:06:00 am »
Hi,

I am new to programming. I have installed Code Blocks 1.0rc2_mingw. The debugging tools appear on the menu bar but they do not seem to have any effects when I add watch, toggle breakpoints etc. What can I do?

Ien

Offline killerbot

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: Can't use debugging tool
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2006, 08:47:56 am »
for starters, download a nighlty, from this forum (sub section : nightly builds).
RC2 is old ;-)

Then give it a new try. To debug, you must have a project compiled (with debug settings on).

Offline Michael

• Lives here!
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2006, 12:03:53 pm »
for starters, download a nighlty, from this forum (sub section : nightly builds).
RC2 is old ;-)

As alternative you can build C::B using the SVN sources. It is easy and IMHO it is worth :).

Michael

Offline Game_Ender

• Lives here!
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2006, 10:17:17 pm »
Something about the nighly builds should be posted on the main website. Something to the effect of "If you have problems try a nightly build first".

ron8888

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2006, 07:05:41 pm »
Hi,

I'm new and my programming skills are limited to coding numerical simulations in matlab and visual c++. I have a similar problem. I have 2 questions/problems.

Problem:
(i) I couldnt get the debugger to run properly. At first, it just ignores the breakpoints when I run my code. I then installed the latest nightly build. Upon running the debugger, I get a message that the debugger/executable is not set. I am using the vc++ as my compiler. Under compiler >> programs, the file cdb.exe is listed as the debugger. But browsing that directory shows that no such file exists. I have reinstalled the vc++ toolkit but there is still no such file. I can't find a post on debugger on this.