Author Topic: Is Code::Blocks discontinued?  (Read 10002 times)

backAgain120

Is Code::Blocks discontinued?
« on: September 30, 2019, 05:43:45 pm »
Hi.

The title says it all. I was curious if Code::Blocks is a discontinued project. I am using Code::Blocks since about 2017 and I saw that the official GitHub Repository (https://github.com/jenslody/codeblocks) has been archived and that nobody seems to be working on Code::Blocks anymore since April 2018. The GNU/Linux packages also seem to be very old and the Debian package release even didn't work. But now to my second question and to the reason why I actually posted this in "Contributions to C::B". I wanted to ask if I could contribute with maintaining Code::Blocks. I have some experience with packaging and distributing software, so I for example could renew the GNU/Linux packages for Code::Blocks and also create new ones for Solus, openSUSE and even macOS (although I of course know that macOS is not GNU/Linux).

Thanks in advance for the answer(s)!

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: Is Code::Blocks discontinued?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2019, 06:35:26 pm »
Hm, the title of the repo says that it is a mirror of the main SVN repo. This is a mirror of one of C::Bs developers (Jens), but he is busy with other stuff and it is not that active lately, so probably he doesn't update it. The actual/latest version of the source code is stored in SVN on sf.net at the moment.

There are various mirrors on github. Mine is here https://github.com/obfuscated/codeblocks_sf . It is mostly up-to-date (manually).

If you want to help you're welcome.
For packaging stuff you could look at our night build section to see the latest packages and what is missing. Generally packaging for debian distros should be easy, because we ship the needed recipe files and you just need to run the correct build command.