Author Topic: [SOLVED] [Mint 18.2] Codeblocks doesn't save anything  (Read 5683 times)

Offline cruptdoc

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
[SOLVED] [Mint 18.2] Codeblocks doesn't save anything
« on: December 08, 2017, 10:57:16 am »
Hello :)

I use codeblocks for a year now, on windows, macos and linux. No problem for mac os and windows versions.

I'm currently facing to an issue on codeblocks for linux mint, the workspace doesn't want to save (the syntax highlighting, the perspective etc.).

I tried uninstall / reinstall from ppa, always the same problem.
After few searchs on internet, i've also tried "Environment Settings -> General settings -> "Open default workspace", and every time I launch codeblocks, this settings is on "open blank workspace".

It seems like codeblocks doesn't want to change the application start-up settings.

I also did "view -> perspectives -> save current" and "file -> save workspace".

Can you help me to resolve this issue?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 08, 2017, 08:11:12 pm by cruptdoc »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: [Mint 18.2] Codeblocks doesn't save anything
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2017, 03:40:35 pm »
The cause is normally a permission issue on the file or folder that contains the settings; but, I am not sure where it is located.
On, windows the file is called "default.conf".

Edit: Add link to past post http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,21613.msg147111.html#msg147111

Tim S.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2017, 03:59:49 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline cruptdoc

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: [Mint 18.2] Codeblocks doesn't save anything
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2017, 08:10:53 pm »
Hello Stahta01,

You were right, my issue was because of a change in the permissions.

Here's the fix for people that could meet the same issue:

1. Open terminal with ctrl + alt + T
2. Go to ~/.config/codeblocks with cd
3. Verify that you have the default.conf file in this folder with ls command
4. Change permissions to the current user with this command: sudo chown $USER default.conf

$USER is to give the permission to the user that is currently using the system, if you want to give permission to another user, just replace $USER by his nickname.

Now everything works, welcome back to codeblocks, thanks a lot!  :D


Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: [SOLVED] [Mint 18.2] Codeblocks doesn't save anything
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2017, 08:20:38 pm »
The question is why the permissions are wrong in the first place.
Many people have hit this problem and we have no idea what is causing it.

@cruptdoc: Have you run an old version of cb (13.12)?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline osdt

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: [SOLVED] [Mint 18.2] Codeblocks doesn't save anything
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2017, 11:06:44 pm »
The question is why the permissions are wrong in the first place.
Most likely because of running 'sudo codeblocks'. Some distributions (like Ubuntu) preserve $HOME so it still points to the users home directory.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2017, 11:20:18 pm by osdt »

Offline cruptdoc

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: [SOLVED] [Mint 18.2] Codeblocks doesn't save anything
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2017, 06:47:36 pm »
Hello!

@osdt: I launch codeblocks by the shortcut icon, never by the way of sudo.

@oBFusCATed: I'm using 16.01 version, and i've never use the 13.12 on this system.
When I've installed codeblocks few months ago, I didn't meet any trouble.

Between the two periods (from my last use to days ago) I met an issue on my linux mint kde, like sddm that was uninstalled, plasmashell too, and I had to reinstall these packages by the way of the console.