Author Topic: wxWidget with codeblocks problem  (Read 49639 times)

Offline gtafan

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2017, 07:11:21 pm »
Sorry but my bigest problem is the language. I know how to compile a C++ project without IDE, but not if it should have a GUI.
I also know that CB can worck with diferent compilers and diferent versions of the same compiler are incompatible. However, as far I know, a compiler should be specified befor CB can use it, so CB knows the path to it and should be able to invoke it for building any C++ API. So I am tallking about some kind of plugin system, like many IDEs have.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2017, 07:48:35 pm »
Sorry but my bigest problem is the language. I know how to compile a C++ project without IDE, but not if it should have a GUI.
I also know that CB can worck with diferent compilers and diferent versions of the same compiler are incompatible. However, as far I know, a compiler should be specified befor CB can use it, so CB knows the path to it and should be able to invoke it for building any C++ API. So I am tallking about some kind of plugin system, like many IDEs have.

Please read and follow the rules http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,9996.0.html

Please ask your how to build wxWidgets questions on sites like https://forums.wxwidgets.org/ in the future.
Please ask your C++ Programming questions on sites like https://cboard.cprogramming.com/forum.php

Please re-read this thread!!
This whole thread is because you DO NOT know how to build wxWidgets on the command line!!

Please use the user sub-forum in the future.
http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Can a admin person lock this thread!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline gtafan

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2017, 08:13:02 pm »
I read the name of this subforum was help, so I posted here. Have seen a lot of wikis, befor posting here, but none of them was useful.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2017, 08:17:16 pm »
I read the name of this subforum was help, so I posted here. Have seen a lot of wikis, befor posting here, but none of them was useful.

This site is also NOT a support site for poor reading comprehension.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline gtafan

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2017, 01:36:12 pm »
Like I said, have done exactly, what that wikis were telling, tried building with diferent options, witht static=1 there were even more .a files, but got exactly the same error mesage from CodeBlocks.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #20 on: March 31, 2017, 02:58:10 pm »
Like I said, have done exactly, what that wikis were telling, tried building with diferent options, witht static=1 there were even more .a files, but got exactly the same error mesage from CodeBlocks.

Post the names of the wxWidgets libraries that was created by you building wxWidgets.

DECIDE what version/build type of wxWidgets libraries you wish to use and then tell us!!

Tell us the options used in the CB Wizard; Please try to help us help you or I will ask that you be banned!

Edit: One of the links that give a good overview of wxWidgets http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/WxWindowsQuickRef

Tim S.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 09:08:52 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline gtafan

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2017, 04:28:14 pm »
Like I said, have done exactly, what that wikis were telling, tried building with diferent options, witht static=1 there were even more .a files, but got exactly the same error mesage from CodeBlocks.

Post the names of the wxWidgets libraries that was created by you building wxWidgets.

DECIDE what version/build type of wxWidgets libraries you wish to use and then tell us!!

Tell us the options used in the CB Wizard; Please try to help us help you or I will ask that you be banned!

Edit: One of the links that give a good overview of wxWidgets http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/WxWindowsQuickRef

Tim S.
Hi Tim, really not here for trolling you or somebody else, sorry if it looks like so. If you read post #6, there are answers to most of your questions. The link yo gave me, I already know, that where I got that comandline stuff from. As you can see in post #2 I am doing exactlly what that wiki, you gave me a link to tells.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2017, 08:07:57 pm »
Bye, you refuse to help me help you.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #23 on: April 03, 2017, 10:50:04 pm »
Soooo, i would like to join the party here xD


From this post:
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,21840.msg148600.html#msg148600
we see, that your compilation of wxWidgets was not successful. Why we know that? The main libraries are missing....
So you cant use codeblocks with wxWidgets because you have a build error on compiling the library and so there is no library you can use in codeblocks

This was told to you by this post:
There are two missing libraries, libwxmsw30u.a and libwxmsw30u_gl.a.

You should call again the compilation command and look for compilation errors (one frequent error with monolithic builds is related to memory starvation in ld).

you ask:
Quote
Should I set monolithic  to 0?
well we don't know.. do you need a monolithic library? in general it is not "that" wise to build a big library as monolithic, because you need a lot ram. But if you want to use wxWidgets to build codeblocks it is better to build it as monolithic. What you should do is check why the build fails... We can't tell you this from the far. you have the error message in your console...
This was told you here:
First you should identify why compilation fails, if it is due to a linker memory error then MONOLITHIC=0 is an option.

In https://wiki.wxwidgets.org/Compiling_wxWidgets_with_MinGW, past the middle of the page, there are some hints compiling wxWidgets in monolithic and static mode (look for To fix issues when compiling static library with MONOLITHIC option and below).

Could be problem with static? When I compiled with static=1 there were more .a files there.
So why do you don't tell us the new names as stahta01 asked for? Is it this hard to type the names? We can't do it for you, because we don't have your problem...

Is there any simpler posibility to make WxWidget worck with CodeBlocks?
This is quite simple: Type one line in the command line, hit enter and wait... If something does not work, read the error message, find a solution and start from 1)....
Of corse you can also use pre build packages. They are out there, but you can use google by your own. If you want to learn programming googeling (or duckduckgoing) should be one of your basic skills (and also a bit of perseverance is needed)

Just dont`t understand why can´t codeblocks build WxWigets itself, would make ewerithing easier.
I can tell you why: The developer of wxWidgets decided to use make as their build system. So you have to use make as build system to make wx and not codeblocks. Codeblocks is not a compiler or a framework. Codeblocks is a editor (like notepad) with a integrated build system (like make, but not make!) . Why don't the codeblocks devs provide a binary/project file for wx you may ask? Simply because it is not their work and also some sort of lack of time.... They are busy with life and more critical codeblocks things, than providing a thing 10000 other people can do with a bit help

Sorry but my bigest problem is the language. I know how to compile a C++ project without IDE, but not if it should have a GUI.
I also know that CB can worck with diferent compilers and diferent versions of the same compiler are incompatible. However, as far I know, a compiler should be specified befor CB can use it, so CB knows the path to it and should be able to invoke it for building any C++ API. So I am tallking about some kind of plugin system, like many IDEs have.
Ok, now you are complaining about the language... This really has nothing to do with codeblocks... In codeblocks you can use python, D, fortran and many other languages... If you ask for a packet management system you can look at linux... there it is a simple (debian system)
Code
sudo apt-get install libwxgtk2.8-dev
and all will work. This is not the work codeblocks has to do. This is the work a packet manager has to do. (On windows you can use pacman?! in msys2)
I personally like how all this is done in c++, because i have all the control i need, and all is dam fast (not like this node bullshit, or even python crap ;) ) , but it is a bit of work to learn all this and if you understand the little pieces you will understand the whole computer thing a lot better. Then you don't write this bullshit webapps (with electron) like nowadays every "programmer" does, because he has no fundamental understanding of the computer (a simple chat program needs 400MB of RAM WTF??!!!???)

Quote
Hi Tim, really not here for trolling you or somebody else, sorry if it looks like so. If you read post #6, there are answers to most of your questions. The link yo gave me, I already know, that where I got that comandline stuff from. As you can see in post #2 I am doing exactlly what that wiki, you gave me a link to tells.
You didn't tell us the names of your static libraries. In your second post the essential names where missing, because your wxWidhets build failed (and by the way: If your problem is the failing wxWidgets build, then this is the wrong forum (wrong page, you see the codeblocks in the url? It would be the right page if there is written wxWidgets) to ask this question, as told to you by others, this forum is only for codeblocks problems and not wxWidgets problems)...

So what can i tell you: Read what others are writing carefully and follow the hints they are giving you. Most of the time they have their reasons to write the steps you should do, because they know what they are doing. And if someone asks you to write something a second/third/fourth , you should do it, because maybe the first time something was different...



Sry for this long post, but it was a kind of stress-relieve for me


Offline gtafan

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #24 on: April 04, 2017, 04:15:02 pm »
There is a misunderstanding, when I tallked about problems with language, I meaned not programming one, but the US language. I have no problems with C++ and eve if I have, I´ll not tallk about them here, as it defenetly not the right place.
I have used WxDev befor, it was really easy to use and I never had such problems, but unfortunatelly WxDev is outdated and is not suporting the curent C++ standard. As the only free alternative I was talld to use CodeBlocks instead, but since more than a month I can´t create a wxWidget Project in CodeBlocks, even I have done exactlly the things that wiki sites were telling me. Really hope to made my problem clear, even with my big problems with your language.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #25 on: April 04, 2017, 06:39:24 pm »
There is a misunderstanding, when I tallked about problems with language, I meaned not programming one, but the US language. I have no problems with C++ and eve if I have, I´ll not tallk about them here, as it defenetly not the right place.
I have used WxDev befor, it was really easy to use and I never had such problems, but unfortunatelly WxDev is outdated and is not suporting the curent C++ standard. As the only free alternative I was talld to use CodeBlocks instead, but since more than a month I can´t create a wxWidget Project in CodeBlocks, even I have done exactlly the things that wiki sites were telling me. Really hope to made my problem clear, even with my big problems with your language.

Then, why in the world did you NOT take your wxWidgets building problem to https://forums.wxwidgets.org/

The only reason I see is that you really are a troll!!

Edit: In case you are NOT troll; your problem is most likely you are getting an error building wxWidgets.
But, since you refuse to answer questions; I must consider you to be an troll or very foolish and ignorant!

Tim S.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2017, 08:28:56 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline gtafan

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #26 on: April 05, 2017, 11:16:41 am »
@Tim: I have already answered the questions in post #6 here, you just need to go back to that post and read, so you can see a list of .a files that were produced after building wxWidget in post #2, also here you can read which comandline I used, if you think that something mising in that posts, just tell me what. Also took your advice to ask about this problem in wxWidgets forum.
Like I said have big problems with the language, not programming one, but that not making me a troll.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #27 on: April 05, 2017, 01:55:39 pm »
Bye Bye Troll.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline gtafan

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 126
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #28 on: April 05, 2017, 03:31:52 pm »
Bye Bye Troll.
I gave you the answers in my previous posts, you don´t want to read tham, OK but that don´t give you the right to call me troll.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: wxWidget with codeblocks problem
« Reply #29 on: April 05, 2017, 05:13:40 pm »
ARE YOU SUCCEEDING IN BUILDING WXWIDGETS OR ARE YOU GETTING A ERROR?

YOU REFUSE TO ANSWER QUESTIONS YOU ARE A TROLL!!!!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org