Author Topic: How to use the debugger ?  (Read 4700 times)

Offline Didier69

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • blog
How to use the debugger ?
« on: October 07, 2006, 01:23:48 pm »
Hi,

I'm under windows xp with C::B nightly build of the 05 October 2006. I use mingw and I have installed gdb. I would like to use breakpoints in C::B. I have registered two breakpoints and here is the errors I have:
Code
Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Build succeeded
Selecting target: Debug
Adding source dir: C:\Documents and Settings\dbretin\Mes documents\CB projects\little_timelog\
Adding source dir: C:\Documents and Settings\dbretin\Mes documents\CB projects\little_timelog\
Adding file: .\timelog.exe
Starting debugger: done
Registered new type: wxString
Registered new type: STL String
Registered new type: STL Vector
Setting breakpoints
Debugger name and version: GNU gdb 5.2.1
No source file named C:/DOCUME~1/dbretin/MESDOC~1/CBPROJ~1/LITTLE~1/src/main.cpp.
No source file named C:/DOCUME~1/dbretin/MESDOC~1/CBPROJ~1/LITTLE~1/src/dirlist/cdirlist.cpp.
Program exited with code 03.
Debugger finished with status 0

The application is launched then stopped at the end. It doesn't stop at my breakpoints.

Did I forget something ?

Regards.

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: How to use the debugger ?
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2006, 01:31:49 pm »
Quote
Debugger name and version: GNU gdb 5.2.1
That's it :)

Use gdb 6.3 and you will be fine.


http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Mingw#gdb_debugger
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline Didier69

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • blog
Re: How to use the debugger ?
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2006, 02:58:50 pm »
Thanks a lot. I searched in the forum, but not in the wiki ;). Is the user documentation uptodate ?

Regards.

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: How to use the debugger ?
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2006, 03:05:48 pm »
Hmmm... I am not aware of any documentation to the debugger at all ;)

The WiKi page I linked to is the page that lists all the downloads from Sourceforge to install a recent, working system (including compiler, debugger, and almost every other tool you'll need). That page is always held up to date (checked bi-weekly).
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

I_want_to_be_free

  • Guest
Re: How to use the debugger ?
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2016, 12:46:43 pm »
Help Wanted!
One issue!
First ,please forgive my poor English,it may make it a little difficult to get my words.
When I finished my code words,I try to use the Step Over to debug it line to line,but it didn't work as usual.And it show that the debugging was over.I don't know how to set it back.I guess there is something  I don't know got changed.
I am eager to your help!

Offline Quiss

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: How to use the debugger ?
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2016, 02:38:22 pm »
Use "Next line", not "Step over".