Author Topic: iostream keeps appearing in debugger  (Read 4323 times)

Offline anonymous_dan2015

• Single posting newcomer
iostream keeps appearing in debugger
« on: July 16, 2015, 01:05:19 pm »
Hi all,

I am relatively new to C++ and to code:blocks. I have just experienced what debugging code is all about. I have written this small program but this is what is happening:
So i place a breakpoint in my program (as I was shown to do when debugging)
I press the debug start/continue button
An empty console window is displayed as normal but an iostream tab is displayed with code inside. The debug stops at line 77 in that code and even when I press the 'step into' debug button, the debug just stays at line 77 in the iostream code.

Here is the code I wrote for the C++ program:
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int x = 3;

while (x==3)
    {
        cout << "X value is: " << x << endl;
        cout << "New x value: " << endl;
        cin >> x;
    }
        cout << "Loop terminated as condition is false" << endl;
    return 0;
}

As, I said, an iostream tab is displayed with code and the debugger stops on line 77 which shows this:

static ios_base::Init __ioinit;

and this is shown in the debugger log:

In msvcrt!fwrite () (C:\WINDOWS\system32\msvcrt.dll)
#1  0x0041144b in __gnu_cxx::stdio_sync_filebuf<char, std::char_traits<char> >::xsputn(char const*, int) () at C:/Dev-Cpp/bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/3.4.2/../../../../include/c++/3.4.2/iostream:77
C:\Dev-Cpp\include\c++\3.4.2\iostream:77:2988:beg:0x41144b
At C:\Dev-Cpp\include\c++\3.4.2\iostream:77

I searched online and deselected the 'catch C++ exceptions' in Settings>>Debugger>>Default but this didn't work.

This problem doesnt occur when the code is C; only C++.

Can anyone please help with this issue?

Thanks in advance

Dan

Re: iostream keeps appearing in debugger
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2015, 01:07:03 pm »