Author Topic: Frame issue with the debugger plugin  (Read 39882 times)

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #30 on: September 27, 2015, 03:55:25 pm »
@scarphin: I've taken you're patch as a base for this one http://cmpt.benbmp.org/codeblocks/patches/dbg.win64.support.001.patch can you try it and verify that everything still works?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #31 on: September 28, 2015, 12:55:10 am »
This patch http://cmpt.benbmp.org/codeblocks/patches/dbg.win64.support.002.patch (contains the previous), should fix the disassembly window, too.
Please test and report any problems on both 32 and 64 bit windows.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #32 on: September 28, 2015, 01:27:44 am »
By disassembly window, do you mean the blank disassembly window?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #33 on: September 28, 2015, 02:04:45 am »
Debug -> Debugging windows -> Disassembly

When you stop on a breakpoint it will show the assembler instructions at the current function.
Test stepping in and out of functions, going to the next instruction, etc.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #34 on: September 28, 2015, 03:31:22 am »
I meant the blank disassembly window bug but anyway it's not that it seems.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #35 on: September 28, 2015, 08:29:35 am »
No idea what bug you're talking about.
Do you have a link with description?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #36 on: September 28, 2015, 12:33:43 pm »
It occurs with embedded compilers (i.e. avr-gcc), it might be a gdb configuration problem or an actual bug. Currently I don't have a setup to produce it, I'll provide more information when I can if I can.

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #37 on: September 28, 2015, 01:45:55 pm »
This patch http://cmpt.benbmp.org/codeblocks/patches/dbg.win64.support.002.patch (contains the previous), should fix the disassembly window, too.
Please test and report any problems on both 32 and 64 bit windows.
Fails to compile with:
Code
D:\coding\projects\sw\codeblocks\trunk\src\sdk\debuggermanager.cpp: In function 'wxString cbDebuggerAddressToString(uint64_t)':
D:\coding\projects\sw\codeblocks\trunk\src\sdk\debuggermanager.cpp:499:18: error: could not convert 'std::basic_stringstream<_CharT, _Traits, _Alloc>::str() const [with _CharT = char; _Traits = std::char_traits<char>; _Alloc = std::allocator<char>; std::basic_stringstream<_CharT, _Traits, _Alloc>::__string_type = std::basic_string<char>]()' from 'std::basic_stringstream<char>::__string_type {aka std::basic_string<char>}' to 'wxString'
     return s.str();
                  ^

mingw-builds compiler 4.9.2.rev3

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #38 on: September 28, 2015, 08:11:40 pm »
Try using something like this: return wxString(s.str().c_str(), wxConvUTF8);
It seems, I've not tested the latest revision with wx2.8.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #39 on: September 28, 2015, 08:44:31 pm »
It seems, I've not tested the latest revision with wx2.8.
Please make sure it compiles first then I'll test it. Currently I don't have much time to try to make a patch I'm not familiar with compile.

Btw the patch doesn't apply with svn, I had to use git to apply it. Others also willing to test this might complain about that if you don't fix it.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #40 on: September 28, 2015, 09:29:01 pm »
Please make sure it compiles first then I'll test it. Currently I don't have much time to try to make a patch I'm not familiar with compile.
Fine. Just keep in mind that I can't test this on windows (not enough time), and especially I have no intention to test it on win 64bit.
So I suppose you'll have to make changes if something fails.

Btw the patch doesn't apply with svn, I had to use git to apply it. Others also willing to test this might complain about that if you don't fix it.
What do you mean by this? As far as I know svn doesn't have a command to apply patches.
So the problem is in your patch utility. If you're using tortoisesvn to apply it then try with command line based patch or complain to the devs of tortoise svn.

Also if you open the patch you'll see that this is not a git patch. I've preprocessed it, but I guess this is not enough and I should stop bothering with it this because it doesn't work whatever I do on windows...  :o
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #42 on: October 04, 2015, 09:24:41 am »
Updated patches:
http://cmpt.benbmp.org/codeblocks/patches/dbg.win64.support.2.001.patch
http://cmpt.benbmp.org/codeblocks/patches/dbg.win64.support.2.002.patch
Sorry, but those patches do not apply on SVN trunk.

Can you apply Jens' cleanup script to they are compatible? Otherwise testing will be hard...
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #43 on: October 04, 2015, 09:58:02 am »
I attached svn compatible (whatever) versions. I think the problem is with the lines:
Code
@@ -123,7 +124,7 @@ class DLLIMPORT cbStackFrame
where the svn (whatever) generated version is like:
Code
@@ -123,7 +124,7 @@
This seems to be some kind of a setting problem and is NOT related to my patching utility.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Frame issue with the debugger plugin
« Reply #44 on: October 04, 2015, 11:14:40 am »
Can you apply Jens' cleanup script to they are compatible? Otherwise testing will be hard...
If you give me a link to it, I can start using it. Otherwise I'll just give you links to a branch on github next time.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]